February 2014 Newsletter


Happy February, everyone. Did you really think the groundhog wasn’t going to see its shadow? I just hope we can get out of this holding pattern of negative temps, and I look forward to complaining about the extreme heat and humidity in six months. Actually I should temper that, as one of my goals for 2014 is to complain less, especially about things out of my control. It’s not as easy as it sounds, I tell you.

One thing I can’t complain about, however, is the fact that we represent some truly gifted artists and groups, and as usual we’ll give you an overview here. Have a great month!

General News

Minneapolis based Tim Mahoney (and alum from NBC’s hit reality show The Voice) won the MyTalk 107.1’s Mister Manuary contest, after he was “drafted” by radio personalities Lora and Julia. Listeners began voting January 14 and Tim was announced as the winner on January 31. In addition to the title of Mister Manuary, Tim has earned $1000 for Protecting Paws Animal Rescue. www.timmahoney.com

Another Twin Cities alum of The Voice, Nicholas David, has become very involved with Smile Network International, a Minnesota-based non-profit that provides free reconstructive surgeries to impoverished children around the world born with cleft lips and cleft palates. This past Sunday, Nicholas performed at the Smile Network’s International Gala at Fine Line Music Hall in Minneapolis. www.thefeelin.com

Videos

Here are videos of two talented acts and projects that Matt is spearheading. San Francisco by way of Cleveland singer and songwriter Nate Jones; and Georgia band Seven Handle Circus, described as “bad ass bluegrass with the drive and energy of a rock band. Yep, pretty much! Check them out and let us know what you think….






New Clients and New Releases

The Americans As their name suggests, The Americans perform original rock & roll rooted in traditional American music. Formed in 2010, the band has toured all over the United States and shared billing with the likes of T Bone Burnett, Ryan Bingham, and Patti Smith and appeared on The Late Show with David Letterman in 2013. They will start touring again next month and The Americans’ most recent recording is "Sweet & Low," an original composition, for the ANTI- Records album Sons of Rogue's Gallery, released in February 2013. www.theamericansmusic.com

Seven Handle Circus Formed in 2010, Seven Handle Circus is a six-piece Georgia band that has been critically acclaimed as “bad-ass bluegrass” with the “drive and energy of a rock band.” Elements of rock, punk and alternative infuse their shows and they have even rocked crowds with rappers such as T-Pain & Yung Joc. On their debut EP, Whiskey Stills & Sleeping Pills, Seven Handle Circus draws from their love of traditional bluegrass and folk and distills these influences into a modern sound that is all their own. www.sevenhandlecircus.bandcamp.com

Previously Announced Upcoming Releases

Will Kimbrough Sideshow Love (February 18) www.willkimbrough.com
Wyatt Easterling Goodbye-Hello (February 25) www.wyatteasterling.com
The Iveys Jenna’s Song (March 25) www.theiveysmusic.com

Returning Clients

Jon Pousette-Dart The Pousette-Dart Band, led by Jon Pousette-Dart carved a place in the landscape of American music in the 1970’s. Jon’s continued writing and travels have kept him performing nationally and writing steadily with many of the finest writers that embody the best of the American music scene. In 2014, Jon will release a new album, Talk, with Bil VornDick producing. www.pousette-dart.com

John McEuen Always an innovator with friends in high places, Nitty Gritty Dirt Band legend John McEuen will be kicking off a run of tour dates this month with jazz master David Amram, the duo being backed by virtuoso multi-instrumentalists Andy Goessling of Railroad Earth and Matt Cartsonis, whose work with the likes of Steve Martin and Warren Zevon earned him the nickname "the Zelig of popular music." www.johnmceuen.com

Recent Releases

Charlie Parr w/ Alan Sparhawk: Hollandale www.charlieparr.com
Johnny Beauford A Pig Eating Past Love www.johnnybeauford.com
Nate Jones The Nate Jones Band EP www.natejonesband.com

The Companies We Represent

Concord Music Group: We continue to work tour press for several artists under the Concord Music Group umbrella including Al Jarreau, Arturo Sandoval, Boney James, BWB, Chick Corea, Earl Klugh, Eliane Elias, Esperanza Spalding, Fourplay, George Benson, George Duke, Gerald Clayton, Hiromi, Jeff Lorber, Kendrick Scott, Kneebody, Kurt Elling, Lee Ritenour, Marcus Miller, Michael Feinstein, Molly Ringwald, Otis Taylor, Patricia Barber, Roberto Fonseca, Shemekia Copeland, Spencer Day, Steve Tyrell, The Slide Brothers, and Trampled Under Foot. Many of them are touring or will be touring to support new releases, so check them out at Concord Music’s website. www.concordmusicgroup.com

Bullz-Eye.com: With reviews, original entertainment features, sports, commentary, men's fitness advice, humor and blogs covering a wide range of topics, Bullz-Eye.com is one of the premier online entertainment magazines for men. Bullz-Eye.com/Black Mountain Publishing also publishes several blogs including Premium Hollywood, The Scores Report and Mikey's Kitchen. www.bullz-eye.com

Artists Currently on Tour

Poco www.poconut.org
Brian Lisik www.brianlisik.com
Badfish, a Tribute to Sublime www.badfish.com
The Nadas www.thenadas.com
Desert Rose Band www.chrishillman.com/desertroseband
Chris Knight www.chrisknight.net
Pure Prairie League www.pureprairieleague.com
Rosco Bandana www.roscobandana.com
The Whiskey Gentry www.thewhiskeygentry.com
Dan Miraldi www.danmiraldi.com
Red Wanting Blue www.redwantingblue.com
Rob Nance www.robnance.com
Paper Bird www.paperbirdband.com
David Mayfield Parade www.davidmayfieldparade.com
Cash'd Out (Johnny Cash Tribute) www.cashdout.com
Firefall www.firefall.com
Kevin Presbrey www.kevinpresbrey.com


# # #

Follow Us

Services Overview

We write and circulate press releases, service new album releases to media outlets, write or aid in writing bios, and send tour alerts. We also solicit features, interviews, calendar items and more to radio, TV and media contacts and provide detailed reporting to clients.

Retainers are available on a monthly basis by special arrangement. Email Mike for more information, questions about pricing, or for a quote on your specific needs.

Contact Us

Mike Farley
Telephone: 608-848-9707
E-mail: mike@michaeljmedia.com

Matt Kelly
E-mail: matt@michaeljmedia.com

Megan Suddarth
E-mail: megan@michaeljmedia.com