March 2014 Newsletter


Who among us isn’t sick of two things—a horrible winter and lamenting how quickly time passes—these days? But right now we have to want the second thing in order to get past the first. And then when it does and spring lasts about ten days before we have summer, we will complain about the heat. It’s who we are as a people much of the time these days, as we’re expected to cram so much into so little time and to wear multiple hats.

But there are things that can help us cope. Music is one of those things. Unless you hear something over and over again until you are sick of it; or unless you get annoyed upon hearing a musical artist that raises your own blood pressure (for my wife, it’s Rod Stewart; for me, Celine Dion), most music has a way of putting you in a good mood, or a better mood than you were in when you were complaining about the weather.

So hey, let’s thaw out together this month….

New Clients and New Releases

Blue Mother Tupelo Only Sunshine is Nashville based Blue Mother Tupelo's fourth studio album and features ten original songs, including co-writes with Kim Richey, Will Kimbrough, and Ryan Tyndell. North Mississippi hill country, country soul, and raw 1970’s rock and roll are interwoven throughout, but mostly Only Sunshine is American music that'll pull you in to stomp and sway. www.bluemothertupelo.com

Tina & The B-Sides It’s been fifteen years since Tina and the B-Sides’ last album, and the rootsy rock & roll band -- one of the hardest-working Midwestern acts of the ‘90s -- is eager to make up for lost time. On March 25 the group will release Barricade, a reunion album that resurrects the band’s bluesy, barroom stomp for a new decade. www.facebook.com/TinaandtheBSides

Cyndi Harvell Hailing from a small town in Georgia and currently based in Los Angeles, singer-songwriter Cyndi Harvell crafts smart, lyrically rich, ear-catching folk-pop, seasoned with Southern charm. Her new album, Heartache & Revolution, is about disaster that can strike in metaphorical and literal ways, and the rebuilding and rising that happens after the destruction. A musical force of nature, Harvell has also had her music placed in TV spots, commercials, book trailers, iPhone apps, indie films, and an HBO feature film. www.cyndiharvell.com

Crushed Out Crushed Out is an electrified honky-tonk surf duo from Brooklyn, New York. With their joyous and high-energy live show, Crushed Out is known to melt cold, cold hearts and set folks to dancing in the aisles. The husband-wife duo’s influences come from their shared love of ‘atomic’ 50’s rock ‘n’ roll, Delta & Chicago blues, and reverb-drenched surf guitar. Moselle commands the drums with a ferocious femininity and Franklin’s soulful howl slaps back to an era when a man spoke his mind, creating a sound that delivers on all those things rock ‘n’ roll promised us so long ago. www.crushedoutmusic.com

Previously Announced Upcoming Releases

The Iveys Jenna’s Song (March 25) www.theiveysmusic.com

Videos

Released today is the new video from The Iveys, "Jenna's Song," which is also the title track to the band's forthcoming album:



Meanwhile, here are some other great videos from the vault:










Recent Releases

Will Kimbrough Sideshow Love www.willkimbrough.com
Wyatt Easterling Goodbye-Hello www.wyatteasterling.com
Charlie Parr w/ Alan Sparhawk Hollandale www.charlieparr.com
Johnny Beauford A Pig Eating Past Love www.johnnybeauford.com
Jeff Campbell In Spite of Everything www.jeffcampbellmusic.com
Nate Jones The Nate Jones Band EP www.natejonesband.com

The Companies We Represent

Concord Music Group: We continue to work tour press for several artists under the Concord Music Group umbrella including Al Jarreau, Arturo Sandoval, Boney James, BWB, Chick Corea, Earl Klugh, Eliane Elias, Esperanza Spalding, Fourplay, George Benson, George Duke, Gerald Clayton, Hiromi, Jeff Lorber, Kendrick Scott, Kneebody, Kurt Elling, Lee Ritenour, Marcus Miller, Michael Feinstein, Molly Ringwald, Otis Taylor, Patricia Barber, Roberto Fonseca, Shemekia Copeland, Spencer Day, Steve Tyrell, The Slide Brothers, and Trampled Under Foot. Many of them are touring or will be touring to support new releases, so check them out at Concord Music’s website. www.concordmusicgroup.com

Artists Currently on Tour

The Americans www.theamericansmusic.com
John McEuen www.johnmceuen.com
Paper Bird www.paperbirdband.com
Cash'd Out (Johnny Cash Tribute) www.cashdout.com
Kevin Presbrey www.kevinpresbrey.com
Badfish, a Tribute to Sublime www.badfish.com
Desert Rose Band www.chrishillman.com/desertroseband
Chris Knight www.chrisknight.net
Pure Prairie League www.pureprairieleague.com
Rosco Bandana www.roscobandana.com
Tim Mahoney www.timmahoney.com
The Whiskey Gentry www.thewhiskeygentry.com
Red Wanting Blue www.redwantingblue.com
Jon Pousette-Dart www.pousette-dart.com
Seven Handle Circus www.sevenhandlecircus.bandcamp.com
The Nadas www.thenadas.com
David Mayfield Parade www.davidmayfieldparade.net
Brian Lisik www.brianlisik.com
Firefall www.firefall.com


# # #

Follow Us

Services Overview

We write and circulate press releases, service new album releases to media outlets, write or aid in writing bios, and send tour alerts. We also solicit features, interviews, calendar items and more to radio, TV and media contacts and provide detailed reporting to clients.

Retainers are available on a monthly basis by special arrangement. Email Mike for more information, questions about pricing, or for a quote on your specific needs.

Contact Us

Mike Farley
Telephone: 608-848-9707
E-mail: mike@michaeljmedia.com

Matt Kelly
E-mail: matt@michaeljmedia.com

Megan Suddarth
E-mail: megan@michaeljmedia.com