May 2014 Newsletter


Welcome to spring, an ever-short season that is now basically a week or two of a long-jump between winter and summer. But that also means summer is drawing near, and that means music festivals and lots of them. It’s a great chance to get outside and enjoy warm weather, food and drink, and great music shared with like-minded friends and fans. Many of our clients are performing at these events, so keep checking the website(s) for details. Happy spring and happy listening...

New Clients and New Releases

Red Wanting Blue Columbus, Ohio-based band Red Wanting Blue returns July 1 with Little America (Fanatic Records), their most personal and promising album to date. (Check out the promo video for Little America here). In the years since vocalist and songwriter Scott Terry formed Red Wanting Blue, the band has gone on to establish itself as a quintessential example of American perseverance and hard work, building an exceedingly loyal fan base based on non-stop touring, all without any industry support. www.redwantingblue.com

Horseshoes & Hand Grenades Coming from the river town of Stevens Point, Wisconsin, Horseshoes & Hand Grenades is known for their rollicking and energetic stage show and reputation as a good-time band. With strong roots in old-time and bluegrass, the band has formed its own unique style born from the diverse musical backgrounds and interests of the five friends who make up the band. www.hhgmusic.com

Daniel Ellsworth & The Great Lakes Formed in 2010 in Nashville, Daniel Ellsworth & The Great Lakes are a high-energy indie rock band dead set on producing the best live sound they know how. The band’s new album, Kid Tiger, was released this past March 4, and prompted Esquire Magazine to name them as one of 15 bands to watch in 2014. www.danielellsworthandthegreatlakes.com

Bae Kuang Bae (Hao-Yue Kuang) is a Los Angeles based pop/jazz singer/songwriter and a composer for film/TV from China mainland who is about to release her debut EP, These Darling Wings. Bae’s music is in the style of Norah Jones, Corinne Bailey Rae and a little bit of Bjork. Her compositions are represented by multiple music libraries and one of her songs has been placed in the CBS hit TV show The Mentalist. www.baekuang.com

Flow Tribe Straight out of New Orleans, Flow Tribe comes at you with the delicacy of a sledgehammer. They create “backbone cracking music”, a soul shaking mixture of styles and sounds. These are six seasoned performers who have shared the stage with the likes of Trombone Shorty, Juvenile, and Bill Summers just to name a few. A relentlessly touring band that plays major venues and festivals around the country bringing with them a heat and passion best described as “bizarrely irresistible”. www.flowtribe.com

hey Harley: Fans of Americana music may debate on various topics, but are undoubtedly in agreement regarding one point: The only thing better than a single great musician, is two great musicians. That’s certainly the case with hey Harley, a brand-new collaboration between acclaimed singer-songwriters Lizanne Knott and Bill Reveles whose respective strengths are poised to shine in their configuration as a new powerhouse on the Americana scene. www.heyHarley.com

Videos

Blue Mother Tupelo “Livin’ the Good Life”




Cyndi Harvell “Flood”




Horseshoes & Hand Grenades “Whiskey”




Paper Bird “Blood and Bones”




Companies We Represent

Concord Music Group: We are currently working with the following artists under the Concord Music Group umbrella: Al Jarreau, Arturo Sandoval, Billy Porter, Boney James, BWB, Chick Corea, Curtis Stigers, Dianne Reeves, Earl Klugh, Eliane Elias, Emily Bear, George Benson, Harvey Mason, Helen Sung, Hiromi, Jeff Lorber, Kneebody, Kris Bowers, Mindi Abair, Molly Ringwald, Moreland & Arbuckle, Otis Taylor, Patricia Barber, Steve Tyrell, and Trampled Under Foot. There are some new releases that these artists are supporting, so check them out at Concord Music’s website. www.concordmusicgroup.com

Previously Announced Upcoming Releases

Craig Bickhardt The More I Wonder www.craigbickhardt.com
Blue Mother Tupelo Only Sunshine www.bluemothertupelo.com
Cyndi Harvell Heartache & Revolution www.cyndiharvell.com
Shaman Juan Soothsayer www.shamanjuan.com

Recent Releases

Tina & The B-Sides Barricade www.facebook.com/TinaandtheBSides
Will Kimbrough Sideshow Love www.willkimbrough.com
The Iveys Jenna’s Song www.theiveysmusic.com
Charlie Parr w/ Alan Sparhawk Hollandale www.charlieparr.com
Jeff Campbell In Spite of Everything www.jeffcampbellmusic.com

Artists Currently on Tour

The Nadas www.thenadas.com
Nicholas David www.thefeelin.com
David Mayfield Parade www.davidmayfieldparade.net
Brian Lisik www.brianlisik.com
Paper Bird www.paperbirdband.com
Cash'd Out (Johnny Cash Tribute) www.cashdout.com
Chris Knight www.chrisknight.net
Pure Prairie League www.pureprairieleague.com
Rosco Bandana www.roscobandana.com
Badfish, a Tribute to Sublime www.badfish.com
Desert Rose Band www.chrishillman.com/desertroseband
Jon Pousette-Dart www.pousette-dart.com
Strung Like a Horse www.strunglikeahorse.com
Crushed Out www.crushedoutmusic.com
The Americans www.theamericansmusic.com
Seven Handle Circus www.sevenhandlecircus.bandcamp.com
Tim Mahoney www.timmahoney.com
Kevin Presbrey www.kevinpresbrey.com


# # #

Follow Us

Services Overview

We write and circulate press releases, service new album releases to media outlets, write or aid in writing bios, and send tour alerts. We also solicit features, interviews, calendar items and more to radio, TV and media contacts and provide detailed reporting to clients.

Retainers are available on a monthly basis by special arrangement. Email Mike for more information, questions about pricing, or for a quote on your specific needs.

Contact Us

Mike Farley
Telephone: 608-848-9707
E-mail: mike@michaeljmedia.com

Matt Kelly
E-mail: matt@michaeljmedia.com

Megan Suddarth
E-mail: megan@michaeljmedia.com