July 2017 Newsletter


It’s July 3rd. It’s summer. I hope you are all out enjoying the July 4th holiday weekend, instead of typing out a newsletter like I am. And I hope you’ve caught or will catch some of our artists performing at places like Summerfest or the many other festivals and outdoor events that are happening right now. Enjoy the holiday, stay safe and have a great month!—Mike

New clients/new releases

Emily Mure New York City native Emily Mure has journeyed from playing concert halls as a classically trained oboist to busking as a singer-songwriter on the streets of Ireland. Her third album, Worth, brings together all of her rich experiences as a musical traveler, spotlighting both her technical ability and gift for vulnerable, heartfelt songwriting. Recorded last winter at Dimension Sound Studios in Jamaica Plain, MA, Worth blends Mure’s clear vocals with a variety of instruments – including strings, piano, organ, and ukulele. It also takes listeners through a complex collection of themes that aren’t always easy to mine, such as coping with anxiety, saying goodbye to one’s hometown, and learning to cultivate self-acceptance. www.emilymure.com

Brian Lisik and the Unfortunates The Akron based band’s We’re Sorry…(September 15) begins with a musical mistake, as the band counts off the Stones-y opening track “Hey Zelienople!” - three times, and ends with an apology. In between, however, the album’s 13 tracks drip with the type of unrepentant rock that proves pop music still can be fun and dangerous. We’re Sorry… is the follow-up to the band’s critically acclaimed 2015 release, Curtisinterruptedus. Recorded live in a whirlwind six days inside the former Gardner Pie Company factory (a space that also doubles as a scuba diving training facility and occasional rehearsal space for Black Keys’ guitarist, Dan Auerbach) the album’s spontaneity and the room itself act as the visceral sixth member of the band. www.brianlisik.com

Bill Toms and Hard Rain In addition to his previous eight studio albums, one live effort and one 7-song EP, Pittsburgh’s Bill Toms’ forthcoming record, the Will Kimbrough produced Good For My Soul will be marketed internationally. Good For My Soul was recorded in February 2017 by Rick Witkowski at Studio L in Weirton WV, and is best described as American Music—a marriage of soul, blues, gospel, and rock and roll. The characters are the everyday men and women struggling to stay ahead--workers who work only for the purpose of “not to lose,” everyone with hopes and dreams, and those that see these aspirations fade. www.billtoms.com

Previously announced upcoming releases

Stew Cutler Every Sunday Night (September 15) www.stewcutler.com
Ben Rabb Feel Me Fall (July 14) www.benrabb.com
Cameron Mitchell Maspeth (July 14) www.cameronmitchell.net

Recent releases

Darcy Malone & the Tangle Make Me Over darcymaloneandthetangle.com
The Gage Brothers self-titled (May 5) www.thegagebrothers.com
Todd Adelman & The Country Mile Time Will Tell (May 12) www.toddadelman.com
The Two Tracks Postcard Town (May 19) www.thetwotracks.com

Companies We Represent

Concord Music Group — We are currently working with the following artists under the Concord Music Group umbrella for tour press: Curtis Stigers, Dianne Reeves, Doyle Bramhall II, Eliane Elias, Esperanza Spalding, Hiromi, Jamison Ross, Javier Colon, Jazzmeia Horn, John Pizzarelli, Jonny Lang, Kristin Chenoweth, Lee Ritenour, Lizz Wright, Marquis Hill, Melissa Etheridge, Mindi Abair, Peter White, Peter Wolf, Postmodern Jukebox, Richard Elliot, Southern Avenue, and The Record Company. There are some new releases that these artists are supporting, so check them out at www.concordmusicgroup.com. And if you would like a media kit for any of these artists, please let us know.

Other Artists Currently on Tour

The Quebe Sisters quebesisters.com
Pure Prairie League www.pureprairieleague.com
Badfish, a Tribute to Sublime www.badfish.com
Poco www.poconut.org
Darrell Scott www.darrellscott.com
Firefall www.firefallofficial.com
John Papa Gros www.johnpapagros.com
Michael McDermott www.michael-mcdermott.com
John McEuen www.johnmceuen.com
Chris Knight www.chrisknight.net
Flow Tribe www.flowtribe.com
Cowboy Mouth www.cowboymouth.com
Will Kimbrough www.willkimbrough.com
Lizanne Knott www.lizanneknott.com
Red Wanting Blue www.redwantingblue.com
Tim Mahoney www.timmahoneysings.com

# # #

Follow Us

Services Overview

We write and circulate press releases, service new album releases to media outlets, write or aid in writing bios, and send tour alerts. We also solicit features, interviews, calendar items and more to radio, TV and media contacts and provide detailed reporting to clients.

Retainers are available on a monthly basis by special arrangement. Email Mike for more information, questions about pricing, or for a quote on your specific needs.

Contact Us

Mike Farley
Telephone: 608-848-9707
E-mail: mike@michaeljmedia.com

Matt Kelly
E-mail: matt@michaeljmedia.com

Megan Suddarth
E-mail: megan@michaeljmedia.com