May 2017 Newsletter


There are times when I feel like a dinosaur. My wife and I went to see a Led Zeppelin tribute band backed by the Madison Symphony Orchestra about a month ago (amazing show, btw), and she joked about all of the people around us trying to shoot photos and video and having trouble figuring out how to use their phones to do that. I’m at the tail end of the boomer generation so I find myself in that group more than I’d care to admit.

Anyway, working in the business I find new music in several different ways, almost none of which are terrestrial radio. Also, I’ve been adept at using iTunes for well over ten years. But I’d been fighting Spotify for far too long. Ever since I had trouble with the program when I first downloaded it 3-4 years ago, I kind of threw my hands up like an old man yelling at you to get off his lawn. But then a few weeks ago I started poking around again. We listened to Spotify on a road trip and suddenly I found myself able to navigate it, and I think I heard an audible “click” in my head.

Now, I’ve spent the past two weeks perusing Spotify in my spare time and putting playlists together. I love discovering new music and this is such a great (and easy) way to find it and also to share it.

This of course got me thinking about the projects we are working, and the best ways to get music out there. So my question to all of you is, how do you find new music? And what’s the best way to pitch to you, whether you know the artist or not?

Enjoy the rest of the spring everyone, and have a great month!--Mike

Previously announced upcoming releases

The Gage Brothers self-titled (May 5) www.thegagebrothers.com
Todd Adelman & The Country Mile Time Will Tell (May 12) www.toddadelman.com
The Two Tracks Postcard Town (May 19) www.thetwotracks.com

Recent releases

Tim Mahoney featuring Barry Goodreau “Right by My Side” (March 3) www.timmahoneysinger.com
Jessie Smith Like the Sun (March 24) www.jessiesmithmusic.com

Companies We Represent

Concord Music Group — We are currently working with the following artists under the Concord Music Group umbrella: Boney James, Curtis Stigers, Danielle Nicole Band, Dianne Reeves, Doyle Bramhall II, Esperanza Spalding, Hiromi, Javier Colon, Kristin Chenoweth, Lee Ritenour, Lizz Wright, Melissa Etheridge, Mindi Abair, Peter White, Peter Wolf, Postmodern Jukebox, Richard Elliot, Southern Avenue, Stokley, and The Record Company. There are some new releases that these artists are supporting, so check them out at www.concordmusicgroup.com. And if you would like a media kit for any of these artists, please let us know.

Other Artists Currently on Tour

Darrell Scott www.darrellscott.com
Chris Knight www.chrisknight.net
Flow Tribe www.flowtribe.com
Cowboy Mouth www.cowboymouth.com
Darcy Malone & The Tangle www.darcymaloneandthetangle.com
Chris Hillman/Herb Pedersen chrishillman.com/desertroseband/index.htm
John Papa Gros www.johnpapagros.com
Jon Pousette-Dart www.pousette-dart.com
Paper Bird www.paperbirdband.com
Michael McDermott www.michael-mcdermott.com
The Quebe Sisters quebesisters.com
Pure Prairie League www.pureprairieleague.com
Badfish, a Tribute to Sublime www.badfish.com
Poco www.poconut.org
Firefall www.firefallofficial.com
Big Sam’s Funky Nation www.bigsamsfunkynation.com
Will Kimbrough www.willkimbrough.com
Red Wanting Blue www.redwantingblue.com
Brian Lisik www.brianlisik.com

# # #

Follow Us

Services Overview

We write and circulate press releases, service new album releases to media outlets, write or aid in writing bios, and send tour alerts. We also solicit features, interviews, calendar items and more to radio, TV and media contacts and provide detailed reporting to clients.

Retainers are available on a monthly basis by special arrangement. Email Mike for more information, questions about pricing, or for a quote on your specific needs.

Contact Us

Mike Farley
Telephone: 608-848-9707
E-mail: mike@michaeljmedia.com

Matt Kelly
E-mail: matt@michaeljmedia.com

Megan Suddarth
E-mail: megan@michaeljmedia.com