November 2016 Newsletter


I’m keeping it short this month. If you are tired of all of the election coverage, along with the speculation and crap-flinging associated with it; and tired of another Joe Buck-stained World Series, why not transport yourself somewhere else? Not physically (or maybe physically), but mentally. Close your eyes, put your headphones on, eat/drink/ingest ___________ (whatever takes you to a happy place), and check out the projects we have for you this month.

Also, don’t look now….the pumpkins are smashed and you have a candy hangover, but the turkeys and the fat man in a red suit and annoying Lexus commercials are all coming.

Enjoy, and have a great month!--Mike

New clients/Upcoming releases

Josh SwensonI’ll Call You When I Reach Two Harbors (Campervan Records, December 9) is the sophomore album for this 18 year old singer/songwriter. Josh’s Minnesota upbringing seeps into the album’s sound- hints of bluegrass and traditional folk music mix and mingle with guitar melodies and song arrangements more accustomed to coffee shops and campfire sing-a-longs. The recording falls somewhere in between the Americana and Alternative Country genres and pays homage to some of Josh’s favorite songwriters including Jason Isbell, Mason Jennings, Craig Finn and Jeff Tweedy. www.joshswensenmusic.com

Bravo Max Bull Fighter Blues (St. Cait Records, November 4) This 15-track sophomore effort is a decisive shift in direction for Bravo Max and it is the culmination of three years of truly collaborative writing. Since slimming down to a trio from the previous release’s line up as a sextet, the band has also taken on a vastly different sound, going from raucous Americana to progressive rock and roll. In addition to top shelf musicianship by the backbone trio, guest performances, including baritone sax, steel guitar, Hammond B3 organ, trumpet, flute, and trombone, help to solidify the rowdy and emphatic style of the November release. Bullfighter Blues is a gritty and triumphant trip; it is a dreamy flash of instrumental psychedelia mixed with easily accessible rock and roll. www.ilovebravomax.com

Gaelynn Lea Deepest Darkness, Brightest Dawn (November 11) Classically trained violinist and songwriter Gaelynn Lea has been bewitching scores of fans with her experimental and ambient takes on fiddle music, an approach that incorporates her love of traditional tunes, poetry, and sonic exploration. Her work most recently won NPR Music’s 2016 Tiny Desk Contest, a competition drawing submissions of original songs from more than 6,000 musicians across the country. Lea’s newest project, arrives in time for the holiday season and offers the musician’s beautiful and otherworldly takes on a collection of Christmas-themed songs. Lea’s violin playing is the centerpiece of the mostly instrumental set, which also includes her vocals on three tracks. She is also currently on tour through November. www.violinscratches.com

Companies We Represent

Concord Music Group — We are currently working with the following artists under the Concord Music Group umbrella: Ben Williams, Boney James, Danielle Nicole Band, Dianne Reeves, Doyle Bramhall II, Dr. John, Esperanza Spalding, Fourplay, Hiromi, Jamison Ross, Javier Colon, Kristin Chenoweth, Lee Ritenour, Lizz Wright, Marquis Hill, Mindi Abair, Peter White, Peter Wolf, Richard Elliot, Takuya Kuroda, and The Record Company. There are some new releases that these artists are supporting, so check them out at www.concordmusicgroup.com

Meanwhile, here is some news associated with these Concord acts…..Lizz Wright took part in a 100th birthday tribute to Ella Fitzgerald, and her amazing video that premiered on Pop Matters went viral this past week…..Esperanza Spalding took part in A Prairie Home Companion this past Saturday, the inaugural show with new host Chris Thile. You can hear that broadcast here….and iconic J. Geils Band front man Peter Wolf will continue his 2016 U.S. tour this month following the nomination of the J. Geils Band to the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame and wide acclaim for his 8th solo album, A Cure For Loneliness.

Previously announced upcoming releases

Aryk Crowder2x4, Vol. 2 (November 11) www.arykcrowder.com
Tim MahoneyBrooklyn (release date TBA) www.facebook.com/timmahoneycmon

Recent Releases

Roger HooverPastures (Last Chance Records-October 7) rogerhoover.com
Katherine RondeauNew Hope Chateau (October 21) www.katherinerondeau.com
Farewell Milwaukee FM www.farewellmilwaukee.com
John Papa Gros Rivers on Fire www.johnpapagros.com
35th & Taylor I Know You’re Trouble www.35thandtaylor.com

Other Artists Currently on Tour

Fastball www.fastballtheband.com
Cowboy Mouth www.cowboymouth.com
Michael McDermott www.michael-mcdermott.com
Pure Prairie League www.pureprairieleague.com
Chris Hillman/Herb Pedersen chrishillman.com/desertroseband
Poco www.poconut.org
Brian Lisik www.brianlisik.com
The Quebe Sisters quebesisters.com
Will Kimbrough www.willkimbrough.com
Red Wanting Blue www.redwantingblue.com
Firefall www.firefall.net
Big Sam’s Funky Nation www.bigsamsfunkynation.com
Lizanne Knott www.lizanneknott.com
Chris Knight www.chrisknight.net
Jeremy Kittel www.jeremykittel.com
Badfish, a Tribute to Sublime www.badfish.com
Flow Tribe www.flowtribe.com

# # #

Follow Us

Services Overview

We write and circulate press releases, service new album releases to media outlets, write or aid in writing bios, and send tour alerts. We also solicit features, interviews, calendar items and more to radio, TV and media contacts and provide detailed reporting to clients.

Retainers are available on a monthly basis by special arrangement. Email Mike for more information, questions about pricing, or for a quote on your specific needs.

Contact Us

Mike Farley
Telephone: 608-848-9707
E-mail: mike@michaeljmedia.com

Matt Kelly
E-mail: matt@michaeljmedia.com

Megan Suddarth
E-mail: megan@michaeljmedia.com