August 2013 Newsletter


I hope everyone is having a great summer so far. We are busier thanever, and yet I am still looking forward to taking a week off this month to unplug and re-charge. Of course, that is easier said than done these days, as smart phones, tablets and portable communication devices along with social media just beg for us to stay plugged in 24/7. I am no doctor or expert in the field of analyzing the effect of this on health, but I’d have to believe it is an adverse one. You can also look at this as taking comfort and in having peace of mind when you know you can be reached and you are not, thus helping you to relax.

Wait, where was I going with this? Oh yeah. I think it’s important to take time to unplug once in a while. It helps me, and having a clear head and renewed enthusiasm is never a bad thing. So take that time. Read, exercise, and listen to music. Especially that last one. And about that--we’re here to help….

Upcoming Releases

Burning River Ramblers To Color a Fool (August 13) The songwriting and musicianship of this Cleveland band are at a level way ahead of where the band was on its debut, bringing to mind alt-pop heavyweights such as Dave Matthews Band and Big Head Todd & the Monsters, with a touch of G. Love-type special sauce for good measure. In addition, Dave Young Sr. (Eric Carmen, Keith Emerson) and Dave Young Jr. co-produced the record, giving it a nice blend of classic yet fresh sounds. www.brramblers.com

The Whiskey Gentry Holly Grove (September 10) Road tested and audience approved, Atlanta based band The Whiskey Gentry is releasing their second album, the 11-track Holly Grove on September 10 (with release parties August 16 in Athens and August 17 in Atlanta), as yet another leap in the band’s evolution on a musical and social scale. The Whiskey Gentry continues to reel in listeners from all walks of life - from music novices to mainstream audiences - while their musical mastery garners the professional praise and respect of those with the most sophisticated of musical palates. www.thewhiskeygentry.com

Dan Miraldi Devil at Our Heels (September 10) Sonic alchemist Dan Miraldi will release his new six-song EP, Devil At Our Heels, on September 10 (CD release party in Cleveland September 7). Miraldi and his band have crafted another album which conjures the souls of rock, Americana, and power pop, past and present. Building on the success of 2012’s full-length album Sugar & Adrenaline, Devil At Our Heels augments his ability to create original songs resonant of the best of multiple rock genres, while pioneering entirely new music. The first single “Untame” was released on July 30. www.danmiraldi.com

Recent Releases

Kevin Presbrey Dust Unto Dust  www.kevinpresbrey.com
Watermelon Slim Bull Goose Rooster  www.watermelonslim.com
David Newbould Tennessee  www.davidnewbould.com
Rob Nance Lost Souls and Locked Doors  www.robnance.com
David Mayfield Parade Good Man Down  www.davidmayfieldparade.com
Poco All Fired Up  www.poconut.org
Paper Bird Rooms  www.paperbirdband.com
Second Wind Eudora  www.facebook.com/secondwind30

On Tour Now

Breaking Laces  www.breakinglaces.com
Charlie Parr  www.charlieparr.com
A Fragile Tomorrow  www.afragiletomorrow.com
Desert Rose Band  www.chrishillman.com/desertroseband
JP Harris & the Tough Choices  www.ilovehonkytonk.com
Folk Soul Revival  www.folksoulrevival.com
War Poets  www.warpoets.net
Brian Lisik  www.brianlisik.com
Pure Prairie League  www.pureprairieleague.com
Cash'd Out (Johnny Cash Tribute)  www.cashdout.com
Red Wanting Blue  www.redwantingblue.com
Tim Mahoney  www.timmahoney.com
Badfish, a Tribute to Sublime  www.badfish.com
Scott Don’t (original project of Badfish members)  www.scottydont.com
Chris Knight  www.chrisknight.net
The Nadas  www.thenadas.com

The Companies We Represent

Concord Music Group: We continue to work tour press for several artists under the Concord Music Group umbrella including Al Jarreau, Arturo Sandoval, Boney James, BWB, Chick Corea, Earl Klugh, Eliane Elias, Esperanza Spalding, Fourplay, George Benson, George Duke, Gerald Clayton, Hiromi, Jeff Lorber, Kendrick Scott, Kneebody, Kurt Elling, Lee Ritenour, Marcus Miller, Michael Feinstein, Molly Ringwald, Otis Taylor, Patricia Barber, Roberto Fonseca, Shemekia Copeland, Spencer Day, Steve Tyrell, The Slide Brothers, and Trampled Under Foot. Many of them are touring or will be touring to support new releases, so check them out at Concord Music’s website. www.concordmusicgroup.com

Bullz-Eye.com: With reviews, original entertainment features, sports, commentary, men's fitness advice, humor and blogs covering a wide range of topics, Bullz-Eye.com is one of the premier online entertainment magazines for men. Bullz-Eye.com/Black Mountain Publishing also publishes several blogs including Premium Hollywood, The Scores Report and Mikey's Kitchen. www.bullz-eye.com

Blogs and Writing Contributions

Mikey's Kitchen

Progressives Punch Back

Just Another Autism Blog


# # #

Follow Us

Services Overview

We write and circulate press releases, service new album releases to media outlets, write or aid in writing bios, and send tour alerts. We also solicit features, interviews, calendar items and more to radio, TV and media contacts and provide detailed reporting to clients.

Retainers are available on a monthly basis by special arrangement. Email Mike for more information, questions about pricing, or for a quote on your specific needs.

Contact Us

Mike Farley
Telephone: 608-848-9707
E-mail: mike@michaeljmedia.com

Matt Kelly
E-mail: matt@michaeljmedia.com

Megan Suddarth
E-mail: megan@michaeljmedia.com