March 2013 Newsletter


It sure doesn’t feel like spring yet here in Madison. We have a couple feet of snow on the ground and lately it’s been snowing every other day. Last year a super warm March spoiled us, but right now it seems like history won’t repeat in that regard. And that’s okay, because spring is a hopeful time of year with warmer weather (hopefully....as I just said!), St. Patrick’s Day, March Madness, South By Southwest, baseball season, and most of all—some killer music releases. So let’s get to the good stuff, because after writing “baseball season” I just remembered that my Mets are still not very good. Onward……

New Clients

Katey Sagal: It's been several decades since Katey Sagal sang back-up for Bob Dylan, Bette Milder and Etta James, but the Sons of Anarchy star says that in spite of her success as an actress, music is still her true passion. So it’s with that in mind that a touring show was put together— KATEY SAGAL: An Evening of Music and the Cast of Sons of Anarchy. The first dates will consist of a Midwest run April 18 through 21 (Kansas City, Milwaukee, Minneapolis and Chicago). www.facebook.com/kateysagalsoatour

Breaking Laces (returning client) Breaking Laces' fourth full-length release, Come Get Some is a statement piece: the centerpiece of a band having spent years cultivating its craft both onstage and in the studio. It's also the sound of three musicians musically undeterred -- free to amalgamate their harmonic delicacy, ripping rock sensibilities, and off-the-cuff charm into an album they can proudly stand behind. The Laces are currently on tour to support the new release, and also a killer new video for “Mr. Curry is a Cop.” www.breakinglaces.com

Upcoming Releases

Poco: All Fired Up (March 5) www.poconut.org
Tim Mahoney: Shine Through www.timmahoney.com
Paper Bird: Rooms (March 26) www.paperbirdband.com
Lizanne Knott: Standing in the English Rain (March 26) www.lizanneknott.com
David Mayfield: Parade Good Man Down (April 1) www.davidmayfieldparade.com
Tommy & The High Pilots (May 28) www.thehighpilots.com
Burning River Ramblers (title and release date TBA) www.brramblers.com
Ed Roland and the Sweet Tea Project: Devils ‘n’ Darlins (release date TBA) www.thesweetteaproject.com

Recent Releases

Charlie Parr: Barnswallow www.charlieparr.com
The Nadas: Lovejoy Revival www.thenadas.com
FAT OPIE: Victoryville www.fatopie.com
Todd May: Rickenbacker Girls www.pelotonrecords.com/toddmay.com
A Fragile: Tomorrow Be Nice Be Careful www.afragiletomorrow.com
War Poets: Dulce et Decorum Est www.warpoets.net
Jacob Blazer: I Am Jacob www.jacobandthegoodpeople.com
Heyday Media: In This Together www.heydaymediagroup.com

Other News

Ed Roland & The Sweet Tea Project Eight recording artists across a variety of musical genres recently reimagined ESPN’s NBA theme music. Thousands of fans voted for their favorite rendition on the SportsNation section of ESPN.com. Ed Roland and the Sweet Tea Project, produced the winning rendition, which was featured during ESPN’s exclusive telecast of the Sprint NBA Celebrity All-Star Game last month. ESPN Front Row spoke to Roland about the honor, their debut album coming in 2013 and life on the road: http://bit.ly/SweetTeaESPN
www.thesweetteaproject.com

Jeff Campbell Bay area singer/songwriter Jeff Campbell is a top 10 finalist in the Guitar Center SingerSongwriter Contest out of 13,000+ entrants! Finals are at Hotel Cafe in Los Angeles this month and the winner gets a demo deal with John Shanks, a performance on Jimmy Kimmel Live and tons of other priceless industry exposure. You can help spread the word and follow the contest by visiting http://songwriter.whooznxt.com
www.jeffcampbellmusic.com

Canton Symphony On Saturday, April 6 at Umstattd Performing Arts Hall, The Canton Symphony Orchestra will present Here to Stay-The Gershwin Experience, a multi-media concert event celebrating the greatest team of collaborators in the history of American music—the Gershwins. Produced by Todd Gershwin and Daniel Chilewich of Premiere Media, LLC, and conducted by Gerhardt Zimmermann, Here to Stay incorporates family photos, rare video clips and elegant, state-of-the-art visuals to provide a distinctive and unique experience. www.cantonsymphony.org

No Matter What On Saturday, March 30, popular Cleveland cover band No Matter What (my wife Jen Farley is the lead singer) will take the stage for the first time since 2001. This is no ordinary reunion show, as the band will be playing the House of Blues Cambridge Room. More importantly, they’ll be donating every dollar to Autism Speaks, a charity whose mission hits home for several band members.

On Tour Now

Red Wanting Blue www.redwantingblue.com
John Oates www.johnoates.com
Brian Lisik www.brianlisik.com
JP Harris & The Tough Choices www.ilovehonkytonk.com
Dan Miraldi: www.danmiraldi.com
Darrell Scott www.darrellscott.com
Cash'd Out (Johnny Cash Tribute) www.cashdout.com
Michael Kaeshammer www.kaeshammer.com
Pure Prairie League www.pureprairieleague.com
The Whiskey Gentry www.thewhiskeygentry.com
Desert Rose Band www.chrishillman.com/desertroseband
Badfish, a Tribute to Sublime www.badfish.com
Scotty Don't (original project of Badfish members) www.scottydont.com
The Speedbumps www.thespeedbumps.com

The Companies We Represent

Bullz-Eye.com: With reviews, original entertainment features, sports, commentary, men's fitness advice, humor and blogs covering a wide range of topics, Bullz-Eye.com is one of the premier online entertainment magazines for men. Bullz-Eye.com/Black Mountain Publishing also publishes several blogs including Premium Hollywood, The Scores Report and Mikey's Kitchen. www.bullz-eye.com

Blogs and Writing Contributions

Mikey's Kitchen

Progressives Punch Back

Just Another Autism Blog

Follow Us

Services Overview

We write and circulate press releases, service new album releases to media outlets, write or aid in writing bios, and send tour alerts. We also solicit features, interviews, calendar items and more to radio, TV and media contacts and provide detailed reporting to clients.

Retainers are available on a monthly basis by special arrangement. Email Mike for more information, questions about pricing, or for a quote on your specific needs.

Contact Us

Mike Farley
Telephone: 608-848-9707
E-mail: mike@michaeljmedia.com

Matt Kelly
E-mail: matt@michaeljmedia.com

Megan Suddarth
E-mail: megan@michaeljmedia.com