October 2013 Newsletter


Ah, change is in the air as summer has turned to fall and we turn thecalendar to the fourth quarter. Football is in full swing -- or if you are a Giants fan like me, your season is over and it’s time to focus on watching Red Zone and on fantasy football. A chill is in the air for most of us. And yet, even as seasons change and the months whiz by, music is always a constant, and we at Michael J. Media continue to feel fortunate to rep some of the finest acts out there. With that, here is what is on tap for October...

New Clients

Tina Schlieske: One of the Boys-Pinned Up The front woman for Tina & the B-Sides is about to release what she calls a “love letter to Minneapolis,” a cover album of songs by the some of the male-fronted bands that she grew up with when she first started the B-Sides. She says it wasn’t the easiest of things to be a woman wanting to do rock in the predominantly male music scene of the late 80's and early 90's, but while there were incredible women musicians in bands back then and though she admits to not being the cool alternative or hard core punk chick, she wanted to be one of the boys and wanted to play rock and roll. Fast forward to 2013 —Tina has cut a 6 song EP with Patrik Tanner, and chose tracks by Soul Asylum, Husker Du, The Jayhawks, Prince, The Replacements and Bob Dylan and tried to approach them from a female perspective, taking these very male songs and putting a unique spin on them. www.tinaschlieske.com

Upcoming Releases

Jesse Terry: Stay Here with Me (November 12) www.jesseterrymusic.com
Will Kimbrough: Sideshow Love (February 2014) www.willkimbrough.com

The Companies We Represent

Concord Music Group: We continue to work tour press for several artists under the Concord Music Group umbrella including Al Jarreau, Arturo Sandoval, Boney James, BWB, Chick Corea, Earl Klugh, Eliane Elias, Esperanza Spalding, Fourplay, George Benson, George Duke, Gerald Clayton, Hiromi, Jeff Lorber, Kendrick Scott, Kneebody, Kurt Elling, Lee Ritenour, Marcus Miller, Michael Feinstein, Molly Ringwald, Otis Taylor, Patricia Barber, Roberto Fonseca, Shemekia Copeland, Spencer Day, Steve Tyrell, The Slide Brothers, and Trampled Under Foot. Many of them are touring or will be touring to support new releases, so check them out at Concord Music’s website. www.concordmusicgroup.com

Bullz-Eye.com: With reviews, original entertainment features, sports, commentary, men's fitness advice, humor and blogs covering a wide range of topics, Bullz-Eye.com is one of the premier online entertainment magazines for men. Bullz-Eye.com/Black Mountain Publishing also publishes several blogs including Premium Hollywood, The Scores Report and Mikey's Kitchen. www.bullz-eye.com

Recent Releases

The Whiskey Gentry: Holly Grove www.thewhiskeygentry.com
Blood Washed Band: Driftin’ Along www.bloodwashedband.com
Dan Miraldi: Devil at Our Heels www.danmiraldi.com
Charlie Parr: I Dreamed I Saw Paul Bunyan Last Night www.charlieparr.com
Burning River Ramblers: To Color a Fool www.brramblers.com
Kevin Presbrey: Dust Unto Dust www.kevinpresbrey.com
Paper Bird: Rooms www.paperbirdband.com

On Tour Now

Tommy & The High Pilots www.thehighpilots.com
Red Wanting Blue www.redwantingblue.com
Tim Mahoney www.timmahoney.com
Poco www.poconut.org
David Mayfield Parade www.davidmayfieldparade.com
Badfish, a Tribute to Sublime www.badfish.com
Scott Don’t (original project of Badfish members) www.scottydont.com
The Nadas www.thenadas.com
Desert Rose Band www.chrishillman.com/desertroseband
JP Harris & the Tough Choices www.ilovehonkytonk.com
Chris Knight www.chrisknight.net
Firefall www.firefall.com
Pure Prairie League www.pureprairieleague.com
Cash'd Out (Johnny Cash Tribute) www.cashdout.com
Folk Soul Revival www.folksoulrevival.com
Brian Lisik www.brianlisik.com

Blogs and Writing Contributions

Mikey's Kitchen

Progressives Punch Back

Just Another Autism Blog


# # #

Follow Us

Services Overview

We write and circulate press releases, service new album releases to media outlets, write or aid in writing bios, and send tour alerts. We also solicit features, interviews, calendar items and more to radio, TV and media contacts and provide detailed reporting to clients.

Retainers are available on a monthly basis by special arrangement. Email Mike for more information, questions about pricing, or for a quote on your specific needs.

Contact Us

Mike Farley
Telephone: 608-848-9707
E-mail: mike@michaeljmedia.com

Matt Kelly
E-mail: matt@michaeljmedia.com

Megan Suddarth
E-mail: megan@michaeljmedia.com