December 2012 Newsletter


Every year during the holiday season, we say the same thing—where did the last eleven months go? And believe me -- at least from what I’ve seen -- the older we get, the faster those months and years seem to fly. It’s so terribly easy to become mired in a rut and entrenched in a daily grind, but that’s why it’s even more important to make every day count in some small way, either for yourself or in helping others. Of course, we’re not all in the position to be optimistic every day, but I would venture to say that most of us can leave a little bit of our mark each day a little bit more than we already are.

Think about that this holiday season. Think not about slowing down the days, but about slowing down how fast you blaze through them in body and mind. And you know what helps you stop and smell the roses, so to speak? Music. Seeing and hearing good music makes you feel good, and opens your own mind up to the possibilities life has to offer.

And now that I’ve gone all philosophical on you, I want to slow down for a minute to wish you all the happiest and healthiest of holidays, and an awesome start to 2013…….

New Clients

Jacob Blazer: The front man for Jacob and the Good People, Jacob Blazer is releasing a solo EP, I Am Jacob, with release parties scheduled for his hometown of Kent, Ohio on December 22 and in his current city of Atlanta on January 26. Jacob’s music is easy, breezy acoustic fare along the lines of G. Love & Special Sauce. www.jacobandthegoodpeople.com

JP Harris & The Tough Choices: When you have the Nashville Scene Writer’s Choice for Best Country Album (I’ll Keep Calling) in 2012, you have to be doing something right. JP Harris & The Tough Choices, currently touring in support of that 2012 release, play old school country music the way it was intended to be played. www.ilovehonkytonk.com

Other News

War Poets: Twin Cities band will release their debut album, Dulce et Decorum Est at Bunkers on December 7. www.warpoets.net

Tommy & The High Pilots Santa Barbara band returns for their fourth annual A Tommy & The High Pilots Christmas at The Lobero Theatre December 22. www.thehighpilots.com

Red Wanting Blue: Columbus band is wrapping up a stellar year with a New Year’s Eve show on December 31 at The Kent Stage in w/ special guest We Are Public Radio. www.redwantingblue.com

Upcoming Releases

War Poets Dulce et Decorum Est (December 4) www.warpoets.net
A Fragile Tomorrow Be Nice Be Careful (January 8) www.afragiletomorrow.com
Tim Mahoney Shine Through (January 22) www.timmahoney.com
David Mayfield Parade Good Man Down (early 2013) www.davidmayfieldparade.com
Charlie Parr: Barnswallow (February 2013) www.charlieparr.com
Todd May Rickenbacker Girls (February 2013) www.pelotonrecords.com/toddmay.cfm
Paper Bird Rooms (March 2013) www.paperbirdband.com

Recent Releases

The Iveys The Iveys Christmas www.theiveysmusic.com
Heyday Media In This Together www.heydaymediagroup.com
Dave McGraw & Mandy Fer Seed of a Pine www.daveandmandymusic.com
David Olney: Robbery & Murder www.davidolney.com
Dillon Hodges “The Proof” the first single from his upcoming debut album, Rumspringa www.dillonhodges.com
Dolls on Fire Ladies and Gentlemen … www.facebook.com/dollsonfire
A Clever Con Mannequin Love Part 1 facebook.com/aclevercon
Dan Miraldi: Sugar & Adrenaline www.danmiraldi.com
Brian Lisik The Mess That Money Can Buy www.brianlisik.com
Mark Bates: Night Songs www.markbatesmusic.com

On Tour Now

John Oates www.johnoates.com
Ed Roland and the Sweet Tea Project: www.thesweetteaproject.com
Poco www.poconut.org
Darrell Scott www.darrellscott.com
Cash'd Out (Johnny Cash Tribute) www.cashdout.com
Badfish, a Tribute to Sublime www.badfish.com
Scotty Don't (original project of Badfish members) www.scottydont.com
Pure Prairie League www.scottydont.com

The Companies We Represent

Canton Symphony Founded in 1937, the Canton Symphony Orchestra is a fully professional ensemble and organization dedicated to performing concerts that enrich, educate, and entertain residents of Stark County and beyond. The orchestra performs classical, holiday, and a variety of educational programs in Umstattd Hall. www.cantonsymphony.org

Bullz-Eye.com: With reviews, original entertainment features, sports, commentary, men's fitness advice, humor and blogs covering a wide range of topics, Bullz-Eye.com is one of the premier online entertainment magazines for men. Bullz-Eye.com/Black Mountain Publishing also publishes several blogs including Premium Hollywood, The Scores Report and Mikey's Kitchen. www.bullz-eye.com

Blogs and Writing Contributions

Mikey's Kitchen

Progressives Punch Back

Just Another Autism Blog

Big Blue View

Bullz-Eye.com's Grub for Guys

Follow Us

Services Overview

We write and circulate press releases, service new album releases to media outlets, write or aid in writing bios, and send tour alerts. We also solicit features, interviews, calendar items and more to radio, TV and media contacts and provide detailed reporting to clients.

Retainers are available on a monthly basis by special arrangement. Email Mike for more information, questions about pricing, or for a quote on your specific needs.

Contact Us

Mike Farley
Telephone: 608-848-9707
E-mail: mike@michaeljmedia.com

Matt Kelly
E-mail: matt@michaeljmedia.com

Megan Suddarth
E-mail: megan@michaeljmedia.com