July 2012 Newsletter


Whoa. Can someone please tell 2012 to stop moving like a freight train? I’m not really sure how it is July already, but it really is. I keep telling myself to start those side projects and long-term business projects that have been adding up—especially on rainy days. But wait, there was .31 inches of rain here in Madison the month of June. Seriously. Still, I think it’s important to do those things that make us happy and/or things that make our lives easier. And I was reminded of that this past weekend seeing the unbridled joy on my son’s face riding the roller coaster at a kiddie park. Do you have something that makes you happy that you don’t do enough of? I think mine is golf, at least the part when I’m not slamming my clubs into the grass because I dribbled my drive ten feet in front of me. But there are many other things and projects to find time for. I always vow to make time and I’m doing that again now as July has begun. Do you also find yourself vowing to make time for things? You also should make time to listen to music…and here are some suggestions to help you do just that…

New Clients and Upcoming Releases

Starroy Ocho For Willow www.starroy.com

Jesse Terry Empty Seat on a Plane (July 10) www.jesseterrymusic.com

Dan Miraldi: Sugar & Adrenaline (July 17) www.danmiraldi.com

A Clever Con Mannequin Love Part 1 (September) www.aclevercon.com

Brian Lisik The Mess That Money Can Buy (September) www.brianlisik.com

Recent Releases

Mark Bates: Night Songs www.markbatesmusic.com

C-Leb & The Kettle Black: The Kettle Black www.c-lebsounds.com

Lynn Taylor: Barfly www.lynntaylormusic.com

The Mighty Short Bus: The MSB Family Band www.mightyshortbus.com

Ben Levin Group: Invisible Paradise www.benlevingroup.com

Other News

Columbus band Red Wanting Blue will be making their national TV debut, appearing on The Late Show with David Letterman on July 18. The band has been tearing up the road for a decade and a half, and is finally enjoying the national recognition they richly deserve and are touring in support of their latest, From the Vanishing Point on Fanatic Records. www.redwantingblue.com

Tommy & The High Pilots Santa Barbara rockers were featured recently on MTV Buzzworthy for the video of “Where to Start.” www.thehighpilots.com

The Iveys: El Paso pop/rock group will debut on Balcony TV this month and continues regional touring. www.theiveysmusic.com

Natalie Stovall: Rising country star and her band will help celebrate Independence Day on July 4 at Fort Bragg Army Base along with Gloriana and Tyler Hilton. www.nataliestovall.com

In the Studio and Playing a Few Shows

Boom Chick The highly anticipated new album, Want To Give, is slated for release this fall www.boomchickboomchick.com

David Mayfield Parade His Kickstarter campaign has begun and Mayfield is offering some fun stuff in return—even having him produce an album for a top donor. www.davidmayfieldparade.com

Poco Long-awaited new album is on the way from this legacy act. www.poconut.org

Tim Mahoney Finalist from The Voice Season 1 has a new EP on the way www.timmahoney.com

Chris Knight New album, Little Victories, set for release in September www.chrisknight.net

On Tour Now

Charlie Parr: www.charlieparr.com

Tab Benoit www.tabbenoit.com

Burning River Ramblers: www.reverbnation.com/theburningriverramblers

Michael Kaeshammer: www.michaelkaeshammer.com

Andrew Leahey & The Homestead: www.andrewleaheymusic.com

Rose's Pawn Shop: www.rosespawnshop.com

Pure Prairie League www.pureprairieleague.com

Darrell Scott www.darrellscott.com

Cash'd Out (Johnny Cash Tribute) www.cashdout.com

Badfish, a Tribute to Sublime www.badfish.com
Scotty Don't (original project of Badfish members) www.scottydont.com

Jon Pousette-Dart www.pousette-dart.com

David Jacobs-Strain www.davidjacobs-strain.com

Ludo www.ludorock.com

The Companies We Represent

Bullz-Eye.com: With reviews, original entertainment features, sports, commentary, men's fitness advice, humor and blogs covering a wide range of topics, Bullz-Eye.com is one of the premier online entertainment magazines for men. Bullz-Eye.com/Black Mountain Publishing also publishes several blogs including Premium Hollywood, The Scores Report and Mikey's Kitchen. www.bullz-eye.com

Blogs and Writing Contributions

Mikey's Kitchen

Progressives Punch Back

Just Another Autism Blog

Big Blue View

Bullz-Eye.com's Grub for Guys

Follow Us

Services Overview

We write and circulate press releases, service new album releases to media outlets, write or aid in writing bios, and send tour alerts. We also solicit features, interviews, calendar items and more to radio, TV and media contacts and provide detailed reporting to clients.

Retainers are available on a monthly basis by special arrangement. Email Mike for more information, questions about pricing, or for a quote on your specific needs.

Contact Us

Mike Farley
Telephone: 608-848-9707
E-mail: mike@michaeljmedia.com

Matt Kelly
E-mail: matt@michaeljmedia.com

Megan Suddarth
E-mail: megan@michaeljmedia.com