May 2012 Newsletter


Seriously, at what point did time start whipping by like this? It’s really MAY FIRST? Remember when you were a kid in the back seat of the car, watching out the window of the freeway as the trees were whipping rapidly by? That’s how I feel the last few years have been going. It makes you want to stop and smell the roses sometimes (you’re welcome, Louisville). No, really. I remember as a kid that the month between Thanksgiving and Christmas was an eternity. Now I count the weekends in between and wonder how much time we actually have to work, shop and still have a life in order to get to the holidays. Even for me, an avid football fan (my wife will tell you that is an understatement), the offseason doesn’t seem so horribly long anymore. And the summer really does feel like a few weekends, which, technically, it is. There are not enough hours in the day, either, or enough days in the week. So we all must make the best of it as we can. Thankfully, music is a constant that helps gets us through the week and move us along, and here is what we have going on this month...

New Clients and Upcoming Releases

Jesse Terry Empty Seat on a Plane After compiling a batch of songs that he was happy with for his second album, Jesse Terry decided that he wanted to create an album that showcased his singer/songwriter vibe without putting too many bells and whistles on top of the guitar and vocal. Nashville producer/engineer Neilson Hubbard helped to bring the material to life and shared Terry’s vision of “less is more.” The result of their work together is Empty Seat on a Plane, set for release July 10. www.jesseterrymusic.com

Chris Schutz & The Tourists Sunglasses on Starlight is set to release their new album, Sunglasses at Starlight on May 15. The album, which is the follow-up to their 2010 debut, Gemini, was recorded live (with the exception of the bonus track) in one take at the infamous Black Lodge Studios, where William S. Burroughs, Kurt Cobain and Al Jourgensen from Ministry have all recorded. Sunglasses at Starlight was produced by Ed Rose in Eudora, Kansas. www.chrisschutz.com

Lynn Taylor: Barfly It’s often part of human nature that after taking a long break from something, you come back to it energized and with renewed passion. Such is the case with Nashville-based Americana artist Lynn Taylor, formerly of the ragtag string band Felix Wiley, who is back with a Paul Burch-produced album, Barfly. www.facebook.com/BarFly.LynnTaylor

Tab Benoit: A fierce commitment to creative and environmental ideals comes to the forefront in a compilation of recordings from Tab Benoit’s years, so far, on the Telarc label. Legacy: The Best of Tab Benoit gathers 14 tracks that mark some of the high points in the career of an artist who has been aptly described as “the new kid from the old school.” Legacy was released on April 3, 2012, on Telarc, a division of Concord Music Group, and Benoit is touring in support of the new album. www.tabbenoit.com

Mark Bates: Night Songs www.markbatesmusic.com

The Mighty Short Bus: The MSB Family Band www.mightyshortbus.com

Recent Releases

Stolen Rhodes: Falling Off the Edge www.stolenrhodes.com

Tommy Womack: Now What! www.tommywomack.com

David Olney: The Stone www.davidolney.com

Josh Harty: Nowhere www.joshharty.com

Treasa Levasseur: Broad www.treasalevasseur.com

The Iveys: Days & Nights www.theiveysmusic.com

Recent Releases and Touring Acts

Tim Mahoney www.timmahoney.com

Cash'd Out www.cashdout.com

Red Wanting Blue: From the Vanishing Point www.redwantingblue.com

Jon Pousette-Dart www.pousette-dart.com

David Jacobs-Strain www.davidjacobs-strain.com

Zach Williams & The Reformation: A Southern Offering www.zwrnation.com

Charlie Parr: Keep Your Hands on the Plow www.charlieparr.com

David Mayfield Parade: www.davidmayfieldparade.com

Dan Miraldi: Rock N Roll Band www.danmiraldi.com

Badfish, a Tribute to Sublime www.badfish.com
Scotty Don't (original project of Badfish members) www.scottydont.com

Burning River Ramblers: self-titled www.reverbnation.com/theburningriverramblers

Pure Prairie League www.pureprairieleague.com

Darrell Scott Long Ride Home www.darrellscott.com

Tommy & The High Pilots www.thehighpilots.com

Poco www.poconut.org

Chris Knight www.chrisknight.net

Boom Chick www.boomchickboomchick.com

Ludo www.ludorock.com

Will Kimbrough www.willkimbrough.com

The Companies We Represent

Bullz-Eye.com: With reviews, original entertainment features, sports, commentary, men's fitness advice, humor and blogs covering a wide range of topics, Bullz-Eye.com is one of the premier online entertainment magazines for men. Bullz-Eye.com/Black Mountain Publishing also publishes several blogs including Premium Hollywood, The Scores Report and Mikey's Kitchen. www.bullz-eye.com

Blogs and Writing Contributions

Mikey's Kitchen

Progressives Punch Back

Just Another Autism Blog

Big Blue View

Bullz-Eye.com's Grub for Guys

Follow Us

Services Overview

We write and circulate press releases, service new album releases to media outlets, write or aid in writing bios, and send tour alerts. We also solicit features, interviews, calendar items and more to radio, TV and media contacts and provide detailed reporting to clients.

Retainers are available on a monthly basis by special arrangement. Email Mike for more information, questions about pricing, or for a quote on your specific needs.

Contact Us

Mike Farley
Telephone: 608-848-9707
E-mail: mike@michaeljmedia.com

Matt Kelly
E-mail: matt@michaeljmedia.com

Megan Suddarth
E-mail: megan@michaeljmedia.com