October 2016 Newsletter

Posted on 05 Sept 2016 by Admin


Mike Farley

Matt Kelly

Megan Suddarth

Ryan Luecke

Follow Us:
Facebook page
Twitter: @michaeljmedia

If you are averse to extreme cold or extreme hot weather, fall in the Midwest is about as perfect as it gets. Cool, crisp mornings; mild and sunny afternoons; and good sleeping weather at night. I even have a weird affinity for cool, drizzly and dreary days like we had over the weekend—in part because of all of the baseball and football there was to watch.

Fall is also a fantastic season for new music releases and tours. And while it may be difficult to navigate the vast waters of music for consumers, that’s what people like us are here for—to simplify that process by showing media members what’s new and exciting on our roster so that it can be shared with readers and listeners. Sounds simple, right? Of course, it’s not. But if you’ve ever experienced the thrill of making a big sale and/or writing a great song, you probably know how it must feel to share music that moves someone to act in a positive way; or that moves them, period. That can in turn make a lot of people happy—fans, artists, record labels, critics, deejays, etc.

And with that, hopefully you dig what we have on tap this month at MJM. Have a great month!--Mike

New clients/Upcoming releases

Fastball — With nearly 20 years of musical explorations and milestones under its belt, Fastball remains one of the most consistent and continuously celebrated rock bands on the road these days. After rising to prominence in 1996 with the debut disc Make Your Mama Proud, the Austin, Texas-based trio exploded into a household name come 1998’s breakthrough project All the Pain Money Can Buy, joining the likes of fellow artfully spun acts like The Wallflowers, Matthew Sweet, The Jayhawks, Cracker and the Ryan Adams-fronted Whiskeytown on the charts. A new album is due in 2017. www.fastballtheband.com

Aryk Crowder — Aryk Crowder blurs the lines between R&B and acoustic pop on his November 11 release, 2x4, Vol. 2. Fueled by grooves, guitars, and the soulful sweep of Crowder's voice, the EP is the second release in the songwriter's 2x4 series, which launched in 2014. A longtime member of Chicago's music community, Crowder cut his teeth in a variety of regional bands — including a hip-hop act — before going solo. 2x4, Vol. 2 bears some welcome traces of that past, thanks in large part to a rhythmic backing band featuring members of the popular Chicago-based hip-hop act Sidewalk Chalk. www.arykcrowder.com

Previously announced upcoming releases

Roger HooverPastures (Last Chance Records-October 7) rogerhoover.com
Katherine RondeauNew Hope Chateau (October 21) www.katherinerondeau.com
The War and TreatyDear Martha (October 21) www.thewarandtreaty.com
Tim MahoneyBrooklyn (date TBA—being moved) www.facebook.com/timmahoneycmon

Recent Releases

Farewell Milwaukee FM www.farewellmilwaukee.com
John Papa Gros Rivers on Fire www.johnpapagros.com
35th & Taylor I Know You’re Trouble www.35thandtaylor.com
Cowboy Mouth The Name of the Band Is (July 15) www.cowboymouth.com
Michael McDermott Willow Springs www.michael-mcdermott.com

Concord Music Group — We are currently working with the following artists under the Concord Music Group umbrella: Ben Williams, Boney James, Chick Corea, Danielle Nicole Band, Dianne Reeves, Doyle Bramhall II, Dr. John, Esperanza Spalding, Fourplay, Hiromi, Jamison Ross, Javier Colon, Kristin Chenoweth, Lee Ritenour, Lizz Wright, Marquis Hill, Mindi Abair, Peter White, Peter Wolf, Richard Elliot, Takuya Kuroda, and The Record Company . There are some new releases that these artists are supporting, so check them out at www.concordmusicgroup.com

Artists Currently on Tour

Kerri Powers www.kerripowers.com
The Quebe Sisters quebesisters.com
Will Kimbrough www.willkimbrough.com
Red Wanting Blue www.redwantingblue.com
Firefall www.firefall.net
Big Sam’s Funky Nation www.bigsamsfunkynation.com
Lizanne Knott www.lizanneknott.com
Chris Knight www.chrisknight.net
Jeremy Kittel www.jeremykittel.com
Badfish, a Tribute to Sublime www.badfish.com
Flow Tribe www.flowtribe.com
Gaelynn Lea www.violinscratches.com
Underhill Rose www.underhillrose.com
Ruby & the Rogues www.rubyandtherogues.com
Pure Prairie League www.pureprairieleague.com
Chris Hillman/Herb Pedersen chrishillman.com/desertroseband
Poco www.poconut.org
Brian Lisik www.brianlisik.com

# # #

Follow Us

Services Overview

We write and circulate press releases, service new album releases to media outlets, write or aid in writing bios, and send tour alerts. We also solicit features, interviews, calendar items and more to radio, TV and media contacts and provide detailed reporting to clients.

Retainers are available on a monthly basis by special arrangement. Email Mike for more information, questions about pricing, or for a quote on your specific needs.

Contact Us

Mike Farley
Telephone: 608-848-9707
E-mail: mike@michaeljmedia.com

Matt Kelly
E-mail: matt@michaeljmedia.com

Megan Suddarth
E-mail: megan@michaeljmedia.com