July 2015 Newsletter

Posted on 04 July 2015 by Admin

logo

Contact:
Mike Farley
608-848-9707
mike@michaeljmedia.com

Matt Kelly
matt@michaeljmedia.com

Megan Suddarth
megan@michaeljmedia.com

Ryan Luecke
ryan@michaeljmedia.com

Follow Us:
Soundcloud
Facebook page
Twitter: @michaeljmedia
YouTube

Upon hearing about the death of longtime Yes bassist Chris Squires this morning, I was immediately taken back to the ‘70’s. You no doubt hear the song “Roundabout” on classic rock programming everywhere, so it’s likely many people over the age of 40 are not only familiar with the song, but have heard it a LOT. And if you are familiar with it, you will hear Chris Squire’s bass line, one of the most iconic in all of rock music.

But that’s also what music does for us, and the reason so many of us connect with it—it always takes you back to times in your life when you heard a particular song, whether it was four years ago or 40. This was a song I blasted on vinyl in my bedroom and played air guitar to. I’m sure you have your memories like that of music you hear as well. I think it’s why people become music collectors, to hold on to memories of where they were at a place in time. That is a powerful thing for music lovers and it’s also humbling for the musicians who create it.

RIP Chris Squires.

And now to make some new memories…..

New Clients and New Releases

Jimmy “Duck” Holmes Jimmy “Duck” Holmes is the embodiment of raw country blues. He is a celebrated and award winning country blues musician who is regarded as the last of the Bentonia Blues greats. While he frequently plays at blues festivals across the United States and Europe, Jimmy can normally be found in his hometown of Bentonia, Mississippi at the Blue Front Café, the oldest surviving juke joint in Mississippi, famous for its buffalo fish, moonshine and the haunting ethereal Bentonia Blues. Jimmy makes his way up north this month for a run they are calling the “Minnissippi Tour.” http://on.fb.me/1eiJ8Qh

Roger Hoover — Ohio is well known for its rich musical legacy, spanning virtually every genre available in its myriad local scenes. State resident and singer-songwriter Roger Hoover is immersing himself in the city of Kent’s particularly rich folk scene by announcing a summer residency at the city’s storied Venice Café, which will run on Tuesdays from July 14 through August 25. In addition to another local appearance (at Cleveland’s Beachland Ballroom July 7 with Charlie Parr), Hoover is currently also in the midst of working on a slate of new music. www.rogerhoover.com

Previously announced upcoming releases

Jon Pousette-Dart Talk (July 24) www.pousette-dart.com

Recent Releases

Dan Rodriguez Come On Home www.danrodriguezmusic.com
Brian Lisik Curtisinterruptedus www.brianlisik.com
Hobo Nephews of Uncle Frank American Shuffle (Chaperone Records) hobonephews.com
Rob Nance Signal Fires www.robnance.com

Companies We Represent

Concord Music Group — We are currently working with the following artists under the Concord Music Group umbrella: Al Jarreau, Ben Williams, Chick Corea, Danielle Nicole Band, David Benoit, Dianne Reeves, Dr. John, Eliane Elias, Fourplay, Gerald Albright, Hiromi, Jamison Ross, John Pizzarelli, Kenny Wayne Shepherd Band, Kris Bowers, Lizz Wright, Melissa Aldana, Mike Stern, Mindi Abair, Molly Ringwald, Peter White, and Richard Elliot. There are some new releases that these artists are supporting, so check them out at www.concordmusicgroup.com

Artists Currently on Tour

The Quebe Sisters quebesisters.com
Nitty Gritty Dirt Band www.nittygritty.com
Jim Lauderdale www.jimlauderdale.com
Nicholas David www.thefeelin.com
Cowboy Mouth www.cowboymouth.com
Red Wanting Blue www.redwantingblue.com
Pure Prairie League www.pureprairieleague.com
Brigitte DeMeyer www.brigittedemeyer.com
Kerri Powers www.kerripowers.com
Chris Knight www.chrisknight.net
Will Kimbrough www.willkimbrough.com
Jesse Terry www.jesseterrymusic.com
Badfish, a Tribute to Sublime www.badfish.com
Ben Rabb www.benrabb.com
Flow Tribe www.flowtribe.com
Cash'd Out (Johnny Cash Tribute) www.cashdout.com
Tim Mahoney www.timmahoney.com
Chris Hillman & Herb Pedersen www.chrishillman.com/desertroseband
Poco www.poconut.org

# # #

Follow Us

Services Overview

We write and circulate press releases, service new album releases to media outlets, write or aid in writing bios, and send tour alerts. We also solicit features, interviews, calendar items and more to radio, TV and media contacts and provide detailed reporting to clients.

Retainers are available on a monthly basis by special arrangement. Email Mike for more information, questions about pricing, or for a quote on your specific needs.

Contact Us

Mike Farley
Telephone: 608-848-9707
E-mail: mike@michaeljmedia.com

Matt Kelly
E-mail: matt@michaeljmedia.com

Megan Suddarth
E-mail: megan@michaeljmedia.com