April 2016 Newsletter

Posted on 03 Apr 2016 by Admin

logo

Contact:
Mike Farley
608-848-9707
mike@michaeljmedia.com

Matt Kelly
matt@michaeljmedia.com

Megan Suddarth
megan@michaeljmedia.com

Ryan Luecke
ryan@michaeljmedia.com

Follow Us:
Soundcloud
Facebook page
Twitter: @michaeljmedia
YouTube

Welcome to April. The second quarter. The start of baseball season and of tax season. The true start of spring in most places.

As I often do when seasons turn is I begin assembling a music play list of the songs I’ve encountered in the past three months that have moved me or that are moving me at this exact time. Then I can go back and listen to these down the road—and feel things I was feeling when I put the lists together. I imagine people, events, or things like remembering that I was driving to the gym listening to a song on repeat and what the weather was like at that time.

I’m guessing many of you do this or have that same emotional attachment to music. I don’t think anything can take you back to time and place the way music can. Okay, maybe food can do that too. I sure know the pizza of my New York youth when I taste it and what that does to the sensory matter of my brain.

Music can also be a sanctuary, a place to go and hide for a while because the real world can be a terrifying place these days.

So let us know if you need or want to hear any music from the artists we represent, or if you want to know what I’m listening to right now. I’m all about spreading the word about artists I love whether we work with them or not.

Have a great month, everyone!

New clients/Upcoming releases

Michael McDermottWillow Springs (June 17) On his tenth solo album, Chicago based singer/songwriter has delivered one of the most honest, daring and defiant recordings of his extraordinary 25 year career. Named for the small town where he now resides with his wife and young daughter, Willow Springs reflects a certain circumspect about McDermott’s life, the situations he’s encountered, while realizing that ultimately, his fate resided in his own hands. www.michael-mcdermott.com

Jeremy Kittel is an American fiddler, violinist, and composer and his original music draws from traditional roots, jazz, Celtic, Classical, electronic, and more. Kittel performs with his own band or trio, as a duo, and as a soloist with orchestras. His most recent solo recording, Chasing Sparks (Compass), features original compositions with a stellar cast of musicians, including special guests Edgar Meyer, Chris Thile, and Mike Marshall. He is currently touring and working on his fifth solo album. www.jeremykittel.com

Previously announced upcoming releases

Lizanne Knott Excellent Day (April 8) www.lizanneknott.com
Cornflower Blue Invincible (June 3) www.cornflowerblue.com

The Quebe Sisters on NPR’s Austin 100 for SXSW
The rest of the world is beginning to catch on to the remarkable talent of The Quebe Sisters, champion fiddle players with beautiful harmonies to match. Last month, they landed on NPR’s Austin 100, an exclusive list of some of the top emerging artists performing at the festival in Austin, curated by longtime NPR contributor Stephen Thompson.

MJM artists at NOLA Jazz Fest
The New Orleans Jazz & Heritage Festival is this month, and MJM has four bands performing—Cowboy Mouth and Flow Tribe on Friday, April 22; and Darcy Malone & the Tangle and Big Sam’s Funky Nation on Saturday, April 23. Among the headliners this year are Stevie Wonder, Pearl Jam, Red Hot Chili Peppers, Neil Young, Snoop Dogg, Paul Simon, Steely Dan, Beck and Van Morrison. You can read more at www.nojazzfest.com

Recent Releases

Darcy Malone & the Tangle Still Life darcymaloneandthetangle.com
Jason Paulson Crow River Ramble www.jasonpaulsonband.com
The Westies Six On The Out www.westiesmusic.com
Mike Farley Band Where We Stand www.mikefarleyband.com

Companies We Represent

Concord Music Group — We are currently working with the following artists under the Concord Music Group umbrella:  Al Jarreau, Ben Williams, Boney James, Chick Corea, Danielle Nicole Band, David Benoit, Dr. John, Dianne Reeves, Eliane Elias, Fourplay,  Hiromi, Javier Colon, Jeff Lorber, John Pizzarelli, Kristin Chenoweth, Kurt Elling, Lizz Wright, Mindi Abair, Peter White, Richard Elliot, Terri Lyne Carrington, and The Record Company .  There are some new releases that these artists are supporting, so check them out at www.concordmusicgroup.com

Artists Currently on Tour

The Quebe Sisters quebesisters.com
Chris Knight www.chrisknight.net
Firefall www.firefall.net
Pure Prairie League www.pureprairieleague.com
Poco www.poconut.org
Badfish, a Tribute to Sublime www.badfish.com
Chris Hillman & Herb Pedersen chrishillman.com/desertroseband/
Flow Tribe www.flowtribe.com
Big Sam’s Funky Nation www.bigsamsfunkynation.com
Will Kimbrough www.willkimbrough.com
Cowboy Mouth www.cowboymouth.com
Brian Lisik www.brianlisik.com
Red Wanting Blue www.redwantingblue.com
Jon Pousette-Dart www.pousette-dart.com
Tim Mahoney www.timmahoney.com


# # #

Follow Us

Services Overview

We write and circulate press releases, service new album releases to media outlets, write or aid in writing bios, and send tour alerts. We also solicit features, interviews, calendar items and more to radio, TV and media contacts and provide detailed reporting to clients.

Retainers are available on a monthly basis by special arrangement. Email Mike for more information, questions about pricing, or for a quote on your specific needs.

Contact Us

Mike Farley
Telephone: 608-848-9707
E-mail: mike@michaeljmedia.com

Matt Kelly
E-mail: matt@michaeljmedia.com

Megan Suddarth
E-mail: megan@michaeljmedia.com