October 2015 Newsletter

Posted on 04 Oct 2015 by Admin


Mike Farley

Matt Kelly

Megan Suddarth

Ryan Luecke

Follow Us:
Facebook page
Twitter: @michaeljmedia

Technology can be a blessing and a curse.

While it’s easier than ever to record and to send music digitally, that also makes it difficult to have your music stand out—even if you’re on a label or have a high powered manager or publicist working on your behalf. There is just so much content out there. There are even more and more ways to consume music—on various devices, and in the vehicles to deliver music to those devices.

But in most cases, the best talent finds a way to rise above and be heard. The great songwriters and musical artists know that it takes time—time to get better at their craft, or playing an instrument and/or singing. Bands that hone their skills playing live and touring tend to stand out after a while if they keep working.

The artists we like to work with at MJM are the ones that keep working hard, even as they assemble a team to manage them, and even as their fan bases continue to grow. They recognize that it’s rewarding to make new music, but it’s even more rewarding to be able to share that music with fans and with the rest of the world. So with that, here is the current roster of those artists.

Have a great October, everyone!

New Clients and New Releases

Ric Todd Fargo based rocker Ric Todd is releasing his debut EP, Drawing Lines, in November. Ric aptly describes the group of songs, recorded in Nashville with producer J Hall, as guitar-driven blues/rock. The EP is all about raw emotion, and in Ric’s “public airing” of that emotion through some blistering guitar work and powerful vocals. www.RicTodd.com

Jordy Searcy Alabama based singer/songwriter Jordy Searcy was featured on Season 7 of NBC’s The Voice, and he is releasing his second EP, Seasons, in November. It’s his first release since appearing on the show, and Searcy will also be touring the South and Southeast this fall in support of the EP. www.jordysearcy.com

Teague Alexy & The Feelin Band are releasing a new single in connection with Teague’s book The New Folklore: Lyrical Tales For Dreamers & Thinkers (North Star Press). “How Lefty Stepanovich Turned Water Into Wine” is the first single from Teague Alexy & The Feelin Band since their 2006 album also called The New Folklore. Teague Alexy (one half of brother duo Hobo Nephews of Uncle Frank), as the story’s narrator, is reunited with Nicholas David, who does duty as both piano player and the cantankerous Mr Borkinszankersneer. Nicholas David also contributes illustrations to the book Version of Three Little Fish. www.northstarpress.com

Previously announced upcoming releases

Elaine St. George“Don’t You Know Me?” A Steve Goodman Songbook www.elainestgeorge.com
Stephen Young & the UnionEagle Fort Rumble www.sytumusic.com
Sarah Clanton — self-titled EP www.sarahclanton.com
Andy Hackbarth — Panorama Motel www.andyhackbarth.com

Recent Releases

Buffalo Stack Hammer and Nails www.buffalostack.com
Jon Pousette-Dart Talk  www.pousette-dart.com
Dan Rodriguez Come On Home www.danrodriguezmusic.com

Companies We Represent

Concord Music Group — We are currently working with the following artists under the Concord Music Group umbrella: Al Jarreau, Ben Williams, Boney James, David Benoit, Dianne Reeves, Dr. John, Fourplay, Gerald Albright, Hiromi, John Pizzarelli, Kenny Wayne Shepherd Band, Kristin Chenoweth, Lee Ritenour, Lizz Wright, Mike Stern, Mindi Abair, Peter White, Richard Elliot, and Terri Lyne Carrington.There are some new releases that these artists are supporting, so check them out at www.concordmusicgroup.com

Artists Currently on Tour

Menage Tour : Hannah Aldridge and David Mayfield, w/ rotating third acts Walt Aldridge, Levi Lowrey, Tim Easton, and Erin Rae McKaskle. www.facebook.com/menagetour
Big Sam’s Funky Nation www.bigsamsfunkynation.com
Hobo Nephews of Uncle Frank hobonephews.com
Chris Hillman & Herb Pedersen www.chrishillman.com/desertroseband
The Quebe Sisters quebesisters.com
Chris Knight www.chrisknight.net
Brigitte DeMeyer www.brigittedemeyer.com
Bluegrass Gospel Project www.bluegrassgospelproject.com
Nicholas David www.thefeelin.com
Cowboy Mouth www.cowboymouth.com
Will Kimbrough www.willkimbrough.com
Badfish, a Tribute to Sublime www.badfish.com
Pure Prairie League www.pureprairieleague.com
Kerri Powers www.kerripowers.com
Red Wanting Blue www.redwantingblue.com
Flow Tribe www.flowtribe.com
Cash'd Out (Johnny Cash Tribute) www.cashdout.com
Tim Mahoney www.timmahoney.com
Brian Lisik www.brianlisik.com

# # #

Follow Us

Services Overview

We write and circulate press releases, service new album releases to media outlets, write or aid in writing bios, and send tour alerts. We also solicit features, interviews, calendar items and more to radio, TV and media contacts and provide detailed reporting to clients.

Retainers are available on a monthly basis by special arrangement. Email Mike for more information, questions about pricing, or for a quote on your specific needs.

Contact Us

Mike Farley
Telephone: 608-848-9707
E-mail: mike@michaeljmedia.com

Matt Kelly
E-mail: matt@michaeljmedia.com

Megan Suddarth
E-mail: megan@michaeljmedia.com