April 2014 Newsletter

Posted on 03 apr 2014 by Admin

logo

Contact:
Mike Farley
608-848-9707
mike@michaeljmedia.com

Matt Kelly
matt@michaeljmedia.com

Megan Suddarth
megan@michaeljmedia.com

Follow Us:
Soundcloud
Facebook page
Twitter: @michaeljmedia
YouTube

Being that today is April Fool’s Day, I thought I would share a funny story from this past weekend, sent to Chris Knight’s manager from a fan:

“Last night after CK had been playing for about 30 minutes, a friend's date came up and introduced himself to me. He said, ‘I listen to a lot of alt-country music, and this guy sounds like a guy named Chris Knight.’ I said, ‘Excuse me?’ as I was really confused. He said, ‘There’s a singer named Chris Knight that I love, and this guy sounds just like him. Who ARE these guys?’ Still stunned, I pointed at the stage and said, ‘That IS Chris Knight.’ The guy said, ‘Holy s**t! No! Oh my G-d!’ I told CK about it after the show, and he said, ‘Glad to know I still sound like myself.’”

Some days, being a publicist is easier than others. And sometimes it’s more difficult. But this story sure speaks to a few things—1) we are so inundated with information these days, that someone can actually be at a show of an artist they love and not realize they are at a show of that very artist they love; 2) it gives the phrase “just be yourself” new meaning; and 3) that dude must have been so enamored with his date that he paid no attention to where he was and what band he was going to see.

Oh and one more thing—it sure is nice when the artists we rep have a sense of humor.

Happy April Fool’s Day, everyone!

Oh, and when you have a chance, please visit the all-new Michael J. Media web page. Our web guru Ryan did a fantastic job on it, and it’s now easier than ever to navigate; and to hear and see our clients’ music and videos with a few easy clicks. Let us know what you think! www.michaeljmedia.com

New Clients and New Releases

Shaman Juan This Elkhart Lake, Wisconsin based recording artist and filmmaker celebrates his 50th year in music with the release of a new album, Soothesayer, which features legendary drummer Clyde Stubblefield. Signed to Motown Records at a very young age, Juan first appeared on the celebrated “Tamla” label, and his band The Messengers enjoyed national and international success. Now in a golden celebration, Shaman Juan delivers an extremely soulful, danceable, and shamanistic rant full of hidden messages and secret meanings. www.shamanjuan.com

Craig Bickhardt He signed his first record deal in 1974 at the age of 19. Since then he has recorded for several record labels including Capitol and Warner Brothers. As a performer, Bickhardt has appeared on the Grand Ol' Opry and Austin City Limits, has shared the stage with Bruce Springsteen and Stephen Stills, and has had his songs recorded by the likes of Johnny Cash, Ray Charles and B.B. King. Now, the Nashville-based Bickhardt is back with a solo album, The More I Wonder—12 songs of timeless, heartfelt songwriting. www.craigbickhardt.com

Strung Like a Horse So far, the only description that nearly fits Chattanooga based touring band Strung Like A Horse is this one: “their acoustic-driven sound fires people off to the darker areas of this strange universe. These unique individuals and their music is like a hellbender found under a rock; not hard to find, but damn hard to get a grasp on.” Yeah, what they said. www.strunglikeahorse.com

The Companies We Represent

Concord Music Group: We continue to work tour press for several artists under the Concord Music Group umbrella including Al Jarreau, Arturo Sandoval, Boney James, BWB, Chick Corea, Earl Klugh, Eliane Elias, Esperanza Spalding, Fourplay, George Benson, George Duke, Gerald Clayton, Hiromi, Jeff Lorber, Kendrick Scott, Kneebody, Kurt Elling, Lee Ritenour, Marcus Miller, Michael Feinstein, Molly Ringwald, Otis Taylor, Patricia Barber, Roberto Fonseca, Shemekia Copeland, Spencer Day, Steve Tyrell, The Slide Brothers, and Trampled Under Foot. Many of them are touring or will be touring to support new releases, so check them out at Concord Music’s website. www.concordmusicgroup.com

Previously Announced Upcoming Releases

Blue Mother Tupelo Only Sunshine www.bluemothertupelo.com
Tina & The B-Sides Barricade www.facebook.com/TinaandtheBSides
Cyndi Harvell Heartache & Revolution www.cyndiharvell.com

Videos

Crushed Out has a new video for “Firelight” and are giving away a download of the single on their current tour:



Jeff Campbell just released the new video for “Save Me,” the first single off of his new EP, In Spite of Everything:




The Iveys officially released the video for the title track of their new album, Jenna’s Song:




Recent Releases

Will Kimbrough Sideshow Love www.willkimbrough.com
The Iveys Jenna’s Song www.theiveysmusic.com
Wyatt Easterling Goodbye-Hello www.wyatteasterling.com
Charlie Parr w/ Alan Sparhawk Hollandale www.charlieparr.com
Johnny Beauford A Pig Eating Past Love www.johnnybeauford.com
Jeff Campbell In Spite of Everything www.jeffcampbellmusic.com
Nate Jones The Nate Jones Band EP www.natejonesband.com

Artists Currently on Tour

Crushed Out www.crushedoutmusic.com
The Americans www.theamericansmusic.com
Paper Bird www.paperbirdband.com
Nicholas David www.thefeelin.com
Cash'd Out (Johnny Cash Tribute) www.cashdout.com
Chris Knight www.chrisknight.net
Pure Prairie League www.pureprairieleague.com
Rosco Bandana www.roscobandana.com
Tim Mahoney www.timmahoney.com
The Whiskey Gentry www.thewhiskeygentry.com
Kevin Presbrey www.kevinpresbrey.com
Badfish, a Tribute to Sublime www.badfish.com
Desert Rose Band www.chrishillman.com/desertroseband
Red Wanting Blue www.redwantingblue.com
Jon Pousette-Dart www.pousette-dart.com
Seven Handle Circus www.sevenhandlecircus.bandcamp.com
The Nadas www.thenadas.com
David Mayfield Parade www.davidmayfieldparade.net
Brian Lisik www.brianlisik.com


# # #

Follow Us

Services Overview

We write and circulate press releases, service new album releases to media outlets, write or aid in writing bios, and send tour alerts. We also solicit features, interviews, calendar items and more to radio, TV and media contacts and provide detailed reporting to clients.

Retainers are available on a monthly basis by special arrangement. Email Mike for more information, questions about pricing, or for a quote on your specific needs.

Contact Us

Mike Farley
Telephone: 608-848-9707
E-mail: mike@michaeljmedia.com

Matt Kelly
E-mail: matt@michaeljmedia.com

Megan Suddarth
E-mail: megan@michaeljmedia.com