September 2015 Newsletter

Posted on 02 Sept 2015 by Admin

logo

Contact:
Mike Farley
608-848-9707
mike@michaeljmedia.com

Matt Kelly
matt@michaeljmedia.com

Megan Suddarth
megan@michaeljmedia.com

Ryan Luecke
ryan@michaeljmedia.com

Follow Us:
Soundcloud
Facebook page
Twitter: @michaeljmedia
YouTube

It’s September 1. We just sent our 8 year old back to school, and as usual sending a child into a new school year makes us lament how fast they grow up. It also makes most of us evaluate time as a drive-by, since time slipping away nudges us to want to do more with our lives.

This month I am in the midst of doing something, and it involves another popular adage—that you can always go back. And going back in this case is to record a new album with the Mike Farley Band, the band that changed my life in many ways fifteen years ago, but mostly represents great times spent with great friends. This week I will be recording vocal tracks, and we will be releasing this new project to the world in November or so.

So going back in this case is making sure to feel the earth moving under our feet, literally. It means slowing down enough to make this block of life’s timeline mean something. Or something like that. But hey, this isn’t ultimately about me, it’s about the talent of the MJM roster. So enjoy…..

New Clients and New Releases

Menage tour — Americana standouts Hannah Aldridge and David Mayfield, two artists heralded for their outstanding songwriting skills in the genre, decided to combine forces and hit the road together in October– and to include even more stunning talent in the realm of Americana, folk, and country artistry. The Ménage Tour, with its in-the-round format, will feature a rotating cast of critically acclaimed guests including Walt Aldridge, Levi Lowrey, Tim Easton, and Erin Rae McKaskle. www.facebook.com/menagetour

Andy Hackbarth — Panorama Motel Raised in the Rocky Mountain region of Colorado, singer/songwriter Andy Hackbarth grew up surrounded by folk songs and classical music; and he combines both of those influences to create his own unique acoustic-driven sound. Hackbarth will release his latest offering, Panorama Motel, on October 9. Written and recorded in the wake of a messy breakup, Hackbarth sings over acoustic guitars, dobro, upright bass and organ- turning his recent brush with heartbreak into some of the most moving songs of his career. www.andyhackbarth.com

Sarah Clanton — self-titled EP The follow-up to her debut full length album in 2013, Nashville based Sarah Clanton’s EP shows an artist working on her craft and learning who she is as a performer and songwriter. It’s also more representative of Sarah’s live show as it features just cello, voice and electric guitar. She will tour throughout the fall in support of the new release. www.sarahclanton.com

Buffalo Stack — One of the most acclaimed new bands on the Americana music scene and among the most respected in the Hudson Valley, Buffalo Stack will launch a five-city tour throughout the Empire State in September. The tour will coincide with the release of a new digital EP, Hammer and Nails – the follow to the group’s self-titled debut which was a mix of rock, soul, country and blues that was praised for its songwriting and musicianship. www.buffalostack.com

Big Sam’s Funky Nation — Since releasing their debut album in 2004, Big Sam’s Funky Nation has become a nationwide favorite on the festival circuit. The band is led by trombone powerhouse Big Sam, who the San Francisco Chronicle calls “the top man on the slide trombone in the birthplace of jazz.” The band’s signature Noladelic Powerfunk sound masterfully combines a rock sensibility with improv-style jazz and a horn-heavy front section that’s the hallmark of big band funk. www.bigsamsfunkynation.com

Previously announced upcoming releases

Elaine St. George“Don’t You Know Me?” A Steve Goodman Songbook www.elainestgeorge.com

Stephen Young & the UnionEagle Fort Rumble www.sytumusic.com

Recent Releases

Jon Pousette-Dart Talk  www.pousette-dart.com
Dan Rodriguez Come On Home www.danrodriguezmusic.com
Brian Lisik Curtisinterruptedus www.brianlisik.com
Hobo Nephews of Uncle Frank American Shuffle hobonephews.com

Companies We Represent

Concord Music Group — We are currently working with the following artists under the Concord Music Group umbrella: Al Jarreau, Ben Williams, David Benoit, Dianne Reeves, Dr. John, Eliane Elias, Fourplay, Gerald Albright, Hiromi, John Pizzarelli, Kenny Wayne Shepherd Band, Kris Bowers, Kristin Chenoweth, Lee Ritenour, Lizz Wright, Melissa Aldana, Mike Stern, Mindi Abair, Molly Ringwald, Peter White, Richard Elliot, and Terri Lyne Carrington. There are some new releases that these artists are supporting, so check them out at www.concordmusicgroup.com

Artists Currently on Tour

Jim Lauderdale www.jimlauderdale.com
Nicholas David www.thefeelin.com
Cowboy Mouth www.cowboymouth.com
Will Kimbrough www.willkimbrough.com
Badfish, a Tribute to Sublime www.badfish.com
Pure Prairie League www.pureprairieleague.com
Kerri Powers www.kerripowers.com
Roger Hoover www.rogerhoover.com
Red Wanting Blue www.redwantingblue.com
Flow Tribe www.flowtribe.com
Cash'd Out (Johnny Cash Tribute) www.cashdout.com
Tim Mahoney www.timmahoney.com
Chris Hillman & Herb Pedersen www.chrishillman.com/desertroseband
The Quebe Sisters quebesisters.com
Chris Knight www.chrisknight.net
Brigitte DeMeyer www.brigittedemeyer.com
The Jack Kerowax www.stcaitrecords.com/artists/kerowax

# # #

Follow Us

Services Overview

We write and circulate press releases, service new album releases to media outlets, write or aid in writing bios, and send tour alerts. We also solicit features, interviews, calendar items and more to radio, TV and media contacts and provide detailed reporting to clients.

Retainers are available on a monthly basis by special arrangement. Email Mike for more information, questions about pricing, or for a quote on your specific needs.

Contact Us

Mike Farley
Telephone: 608-848-9707
E-mail: mike@michaeljmedia.com

Matt Kelly
E-mail: matt@michaeljmedia.com

Megan Suddarth
E-mail: megan@michaeljmedia.com