January 2018 Newsletter

Posted on 06 Jan 2018 by Admin

logo

Contact:
Mike Farley
608-848-9707
mike@michaeljmedia.com

Matt Kelly
matt@michaeljmedia.com

Megan Suddarth
megan@michaeljmedia.com

Ryan Luecke
ryan@michaeljmedia.com

Follow Us:
Soundcloud
Facebook page
Twitter: @michaeljmedia
YouTube

Do you feel like this past year whizzed by, pretty much at the speed of light? I feel like I say this all the time now. I also feel like everyone else laments the same thing. You can chalk it up to getting older, and that after having kids your life seems to speed up. But young people say that time and life are blowing past us in the fast lane as well.

So, I wonder, has time actually sped up (I know it hasn’t, just asking rhetorically)? Or is this feeling just a byproduct of advances in technology (this question I am legitimately asking)? After all, we’ve never had so much information or methods of communication at our fingertips. And is all of this good for our health—mental and/or physical? I’m curious if any of you feel the same way.

I know I’m forever guilty of the whole “savor each moment in time” thing, and I think it’s one of the reasons we make resolutions each year. Because if time does feel like it’s a ride that’s going way too fast, how can we possibly slow it down to enjoy everything life has to offer? I don’t necessarily have the answers, but I do like to pose these things to the rest of you to contemplate.

Hope you all had an awesome holiday season, and we look forward to bringing you some great new music in the coming year!

New clients and new upcoming releases
Althea Grace Dreamers Chicago based singer/songwriter Althea Grace has grown up immersed in music, having shared the stage with Los Lobos since the age of 8 and touring with Doyle Bramhall II over the past year with her band FUTURE STUFF. Michael Kaiz of Jambase has described Althea as “one of Chicago’s rising gems,” and her new EP Dreamers, produced by Bramhall, was released on December 1. www.altheagraceband.com

Ned Hill Six Feet Above Ground (March 30)—Nashville based singer/songwriter Ned Hill’s new album Six Feet Above Ground, is his first solo album. For fifteen years (2001-2016) his oft acclaimed band, Ned Van Go, was the rough-hewn vehicle for Hill’s tunes. On the new record produced by Dave Coleman, Hill sings about life--his own and about the ones who got away. There are equal parts Bottlerockets and Paul Westerberg, with dashes of Petty, Earle, Haggard, the Jayhawks – and even trace elements of a yearning Ian Hunter with a southern accent. www.nedhillmusic.com

Jesse Terry Natural (March 30)—New England based singer/songwriter Jesse Terry is still riding a wave of critical acclaim for his latest album, Stargazer, that was released in September 2017. From those original recording sessions in 2016, Jesse and producer Josh Kaler were able to deliver a second release --Natural, a beautiful acoustic album that features vocal harmonies by Dar Williams, Kim Richey, Cary Ann Hearst of Shovels and Rope, Liz Longley among others. In relation to Stargazer, the tracks on Natural are sparse, uplifting, soothing and dreamy and include a stunning cover of ELO’s “Mr. Blue Sky.” www.jesseterrymusic.com

Previously announced upcoming releases
Lynn Taylor & The BarfliesStaggered (February 9) www.lynntaylormusic.com
The Maggie Valley Band The Hardest Thing (February 6) www.themaggievalleyband.com

Recent releases
The Railsplitters Jump In (November 10) www.therailsplitters.com
Monocle Band The Clearing (October 20) www.monocleband.com
Bob Bradshaw American Echoes (October 20) www.bobbradshaw.net
Thor Platter Take Time (October 27) www.thorplatter.com
Bill Toms and Hard Rain Good For My Soul (October 27) www.billtoms.com
The Freeway Revival Revolution Road (September 1) https://freewayrevival.com
Brian Lisik and the Unfortunates We’re Sorry…(September 15) www.brianlisik.com
Stew Cutler Every Sunday Night (September 15) www.stewcutler.com
Emily Mure Worth (September 22) www.emilymure.com
Sarah Lou Richards Someone Who Gets Me (September 29) http://sarahlourichards.com/
Ben Rabb Feel Me Fall www.benrabb.com

Companies We Represent
Concord Music Group — We are currently working with the following artists under the Concord Music Group umbrella for tour press: Boney James, Danielle Nicole, Dianne Reeves, Doyle Bramhall II, Eliane Elias, Haley Reinhart, Hiromi, Jamison Ross, Jazzmeia Horn, John Pizzarelli, Kenny Wayne Shepherd, Lee Ritenour, Melissa Etheridge, Mike Stern, Peter White, Postmodern Jukebox, Richard Elliot, Southern Avenue, Stokley, and The Record Company. There are some new releases that these artists are supporting, so check them out at www.concordmusicgroup.com. And if you would like a media kit for any of these artists, please let us know.

Other artists currently on tour/on our roster
Will Kimbrough www.willkimbrough.com
The Quebe Sisters quebesisters.com
Pure Prairie League www.pureprairieleague.com
Badfish, a Tribute to Sublime www.badfish.com
Red Wanting Blue www.redwantingblue.com
Poco www.poconut.org
Chris Knight www.chrisknight.net
Flow Tribe www.flowtribe.com
John McEuen www.johnmceuen.com
Darrell Scott www.darrellscott.com
Cowboy Mouth www.cowboymouth.com
Tim Mahoney www.timmahoneysings.com

# # #

Follow Us

Services Overview

We write and circulate press releases, service new album releases to media outlets, write or aid in writing bios, and send tour alerts. We also solicit features, interviews, calendar items and more to radio, TV and media contacts and provide detailed reporting to clients.

Retainers are available on a monthly basis by special arrangement. Email Mike for more information, questions about pricing, or for a quote on your specific needs.

Contact Us

Mike Farley
Telephone: 608-848-9707
E-mail: mike@michaeljmedia.com

Matt Kelly
E-mail: matt@michaeljmedia.com

Megan Suddarth
E-mail: megan@michaeljmedia.com