November 2014 Newsletter

Posted on 06 Nov 2014 by Admin

logo

Contact:
Mike Farley
608-848-9707
mike@michaeljmedia.com

Matt Kelly
matt@michaeljmedia.com

Megan Suddarth
megan@michaeljmedia.com

Follow Us:
Soundcloud
Facebook page
Twitter: @michaeljmedia
YouTube

So while we’re all still sitting here in a sugar buzz from Halloween candy and yet feeling out of sorts from the time change, we can now turn our attention to Thanksgiving. For me, I’m thankful for my wife and son above all else, but right behind that is that I’m thankful for the freedom to have my own business getting great music to tastemakers and industry folks, and have for the last twelve years. I’m thankful that I can do that work from home and be able to pick up my son from school every day. Finally, I am thankful for the life of my dad, who passed away in August—and for what he taught me about business and that you can do anything you want if you just apply yourself and commit.

What are you thankful for this year and in general? Let me know and I will publish some of the replies in next month’s newsletter. Have a great month, and hopefully some of this music will be a part of that…

New Clients and New Releases

Sarah Lou Richards Americana artist Sarah Lou Richards will release her third album, The Woman Behind the Curtain, on November 18. Recorded in Muscle Shoals' Nutthouse Recording Studio with producer Gary Nichols, The Woman Behind the Curtain marks Richards' first time recording with a full band. The basic elements of her 2010 debut, Ruby Red Shoes — an album that combined sharp, observational songwriting with the hooks of pop music and the twang of country — are still intact, but they've become part of a larger, louder puzzle. http://sarahlourichards.com/

The Jack Kerowax Kerowax is the debut album by The Jack Kerowax, a pop-influenced Americana band fronted by singer/songwriter Johnny Beauford and composed of musicians from several Dallas-Fort Worth bands. The 10-track album was recorded, mixed, and mastered solely on analog equipment at Ferralog Studios in Dallas. It’s set to be released November 25 on St. Cait Records. www.stcaitrecords.com/artists/kerowax/

Tim Mahoney Fans of Twins Cities based singer-songwriter Tim Mahoney know and love him primarily for his powerful voice, which—aptly enough—he showed off as a contestant on Adam Levine’s team during the inaugural season of NBC’s The Voice. However, the musician is branching off into an unexpected direction this holiday season, with an instrumental-only EP, Peace of Winter: Live at MacPhail, set for release on November 28. www.timmahoney.com

Recent Releases

Farmer Jason Christmas on the Farm With Farmer Jason www.farmerjason.com
Derek Fawcett FEEL BETTER www.derekfawcett.com
Scott Ainslie The Last Shot Got Him http://scottainslie.com/
Ben Rabb Until It's Gone www.benrabb.com
Flow Tribe Alligator White www.flowtribe.com
David Mayfield Strangers www.davidmayfieldparade.net
The Villains A Little Something For The Pain www.thevillainsband.com

Companies We Represent

Concord Music Group  We are currently working with the following artists under the Concord Music Group umbrella: Boney James, Dianne Reeves, Earl Klugh, Emily Bear, George Benson, Gerald Albright, Helen Sung, Hiromi, Kris Bowers, Melissa Aldana, Mike Stern/Eric Johnson, Mindi Abair, Molly Ringwald, Otis Taylor, Peter White, Richard Elliot, and Trampled Under Foot. There are some new releases that these artists are supporting, so check them out at We are currently working with the following artists under the Concord Music Group umbrella: Boney James, Dianne Reeves, Earl Klugh, Emily Bear, George Benson, Gerald Albright, Helen Sung, Hiromi, Kris Bowers, Melissa Aldana, Mike Stern/Eric Johnson, Mindi Abair, Molly Ringwald, Otis Taylor, Peter White, Richard Elliot, and Trampled Under Foot. There are some new releases that these artists are supporting, so check them out at www.concordmusicgroup.com

Compass Records — We are proud to be handling tour press for some of iconic Nashville independent label Compass Records’ amazing roster. Current tours we are working (in addition to long-time MJM client David Mayfield whom they recently signed) include A.J. Croce, Mike Farris, The Duhks, and The Farewell Drifters. www.compassrecords.com

Artists Currently on Tour

Horseshoes & Hand Grenades www.hhgmusic.com
Nicholas David www.thefeelin.com
Will Kimbrough www.willkimbrough.com
Charlie Parr www.charlieparr.com
Cowboy Mouth www.cowboymouth.com
Kerri Powers www.kerripowers.com
Jon Pousette-Dart www.pousette-dart.com
Rosco Bandana www.roscobandana.com
John McEuen www.johnmceuen.com
Darrell Scott www.darrellscott.com
Pure Prairie League www.pureprairieleague.com
Melanie www.melaniesafka.com
Brigitte DeMeyer http://brigittedemeyer.com/
Rusty Young www.poconut.org
Chris Knight www.chrisknight.net
Radar vs. Wolf www.radarvswolf.com
Cash'd Out (Johnny Cash Tribute) www.cashdout.com
Badfish, a Tribute to Sublime www.badfish.com
Brian Lisik www.brianlisik.com
Strung Like a Horse www.strunglikeahorse.com

# # #

Follow Us

Services Overview

We write and circulate press releases, service new album releases to media outlets, write or aid in writing bios, and send tour alerts. We also solicit features, interviews, calendar items and more to radio, TV and media contacts and provide detailed reporting to clients.

Retainers are available on a monthly basis by special arrangement. Email Mike for more information, questions about pricing, or for a quote on your specific needs.

Contact Us

Mike Farley
Telephone: 608-848-9707
E-mail: mike@michaeljmedia.com

Matt Kelly
E-mail: matt@michaeljmedia.com

Megan Suddarth
E-mail: megan@michaeljmedia.com