September 2017 Newsletter

Posted on 06 Sept 2017 by Admin

logo

Contact:
Mike Farley
608-848-9707
mike@michaeljmedia.com

Matt Kelly
matt@michaeljmedia.com

Megan Suddarth
megan@michaeljmedia.com

Ryan Luecke
ryan@michaeljmedia.com

Follow Us:
Soundcloud
Facebook page
Twitter: @michaeljmedia
YouTube

It’s amazing how sometimes we use things we may have learned of earlier in life, when at the time we could never have predicted that. Back in the day, I was a sales rep that spent much of my time in the car making cold calls and also acting as a customer service rep for existing clients at the same time. I had done this kind of work before, but when I started this gig I was a bit rusty, and had the good fortune of working with a consultant for a few days who knew the ins and outs of the field and this particular client base. Let’s call him Ben.

Ben taught me a few basic principles about sales, and here are a few I found myself using recently, and that I would argue have helped me to be better at my current job as a music publicist:

*Be the answer man—do you know someone that everyone goes to in order to track someone else down? Who is the publicist for XYZ? Do you know a great photographer in NYC? Do you know anyone who works at ABC festival? Basically if you can be this person, and can help someone in a way to make their job easier with no strings attached, you’ve just earned goodwill with that person who can probably help you in some way down the line. I try to be that person as best as possible. I don’t tell people that I can’t help them, I tell them that I will ask around and see what I can find out.

*Communicate with your client to give them an update on the status of an order before they contact you. When my clients have to check in with me, I have failed on some level. Because they are paying me to work for them, I should be the one providing updates before they ask for them. I know I’d rather work with a person who thinks like that than one that I have to constantly chase for information. It might seem like a small thing, but it’s not. Communication is key in many fields, but especially in customer service.

*Become an expert in something specialized. One of the reasons I have had some success as a tour publicist is that I have a good grasp of time zones and what cities/states are in which ones. When you have to look a week ahead to see where an artist is touring and time zone they are in, you have to square that with where the media person who is interviewing them is located and bridge the time zones. It’s not easy, and trust me when I say that I have hiccups, but for the most part being able to pull a block of interview time together quickly and efficiently is something a client appreciates.

With that, have a great holiday weekend and an even better month ahead!--Mike

New clients/new releases

Monocle Band The Clearing (October 20) The magic of the western United States. The mysticism of Colorado. The richness of the Americana-folk music scene. Boulder-based quintet Monocle Band takes all of these influences, and combines them into a sonic destination – sweeping fans into a storied journey through roots rock and beyond. With the new album The Clearing—their second full-length overall, set for release October 20-the band is accomplishing the goal of staying true to its established bluegrass and folk roots, while opening the door up to more diverse influences. Recorded at the iconic eTown Studios and Cinder Sound Studios in Boulder with acclaimed producer/engineer John McVey at the helm, the set explores a variety of lyrical themes, including redemption through nature, struggles with self-doubt as well as self-belief, hope and love, mystery, magic, depression, and dreams. www.monocleband.com

Thor Platter Take Time (October 27) With his new album Take Time, Cleveland based Americana artist Thor Platter is setting out to showcase his mastery of the genre, as well as to capture the energy, spirit, and infectious harmonies of his live shows. Platter’s gentle, affecting vocals – which have earned him numerous comparisons to Willie Nelson – are carried along freely by the accompaniment of rollicking banjo and harmonica. Fans of the classic ‘70s singer-songwriter genre will delight in Platter’s seamless transitions from toe-tapping jams to sweetly confident ballads throughout the set’s 10 tracks. Take Time was recorded and produced by David Mayfield at Tiger Spa in Akron, Ohio. www.thorplatter.com

Previously announced upcoming releases

The Freeway Revival Revolution Road (September 1) freewayrevival.com
Brian Lisik and the Unfortunates We’re Sorry…(September 15) www.brianlisik.com
Stew Cutler Every Sunday Night (September 15) www.stewcutler.com
Emily Mure Worth (September 22) www.emilymure.com
Sarah Lou Richards Someone Who Gets Me (September 29)  sarahlourichards.com
Bob Bradshaw American Echoes (October 20) www.bobbradshaw.net
Bill Toms and Hard Rain Good For My Soul (October 27) www.billtoms.com

Recent releases

Ben Rabb Feel Me Fall www.benrabb.com
Cameron Mitchell Maspeth www.cameronmitchell.net
Darcy Malone & the Tangle Make Me Over darcymaloneandthetangle.com
The Gage Brothers self-titled (May 5) www.thegagebrothers.com
The Two Tracks Postcard Town (May 19) www.thetwotracks.com

Companies We Represent

Concord Music Group — We are currently working with the following artists under the Concord Music Group umbrella for tour press: Danielle Nicole, Dianne Reeves, Doyle Bramhall II, Eliane Elias, Esperanza Spalding, Hiromi, Jazzmeia Horn, John Pizzarelli, Jonny Lang, Kenny Wayne Shepherd, Kristin Chenoweth, Lee Ritenour, Melissa Etheridge, Mike Stern, Peter White, Postmodern Jukebox, Richard Elliot, Southern Avenue, The New Pornographers, and The Record Company. There are some new releases that these artists are supporting, so check them out at www.concordmusicgroup.com. And if you would like a media kit for any of these artists, please let us know.

Other Artists Currently on Tour

The Quebe Sisters quebesisters.com
Pure Prairie League www.pureprairieleague.com
Badfish, a Tribute to Sublime www.badfish.com
Chris Knight www.chrisknight.net
Flow Tribe www.flowtribe.com
Cowboy Mouth www.cowboymouth.com
Red Wanting Blue www.redwantingblue.com
Tim Mahoney www.timmahoneysings.com
Darrell Scott www.darrellscott.com
John McEuen www.johnmceuen.com
Will Kimbrough www.willkimbrough.com

# # #

Follow Us

Services Overview

We write and circulate press releases, service new album releases to media outlets, write or aid in writing bios, and send tour alerts. We also solicit features, interviews, calendar items and more to radio, TV and media contacts and provide detailed reporting to clients.

Retainers are available on a monthly basis by special arrangement. Email Mike for more information, questions about pricing, or for a quote on your specific needs.

Contact Us

Mike Farley
Telephone: 608-848-9707
E-mail: mike@michaeljmedia.com

Matt Kelly
E-mail: matt@michaeljmedia.com

Megan Suddarth
E-mail: megan@michaeljmedia.com