August 2016 Newsletter

Posted on 02 Aug 2016 by Admin

logo

Contact:
Mike Farley
608-848-9707
mike@michaeljmedia.com

Matt Kelly
matt@michaeljmedia.com

Megan Suddarth
megan@michaeljmedia.com

Ryan Luecke
ryan@michaeljmedia.com

Follow Us:
Soundcloud
Facebook page
Twitter: @michaeljmedia
YouTube

So as the summer just whizzes on by, I have a question for all of you. You know how it’s often suggested that we “live for the moment,” “smell the roses,” “stop and savor every day,” or just “slow down before life passes you by?” I know I’ve suggested that here myself quite a bit. But does anyone actually do this for more than a day, an hour, a few minutes? I think there is so much outside (and inside) noise going on that it’s hard not to be distracted by everyday life to the point that we look up, and six hours have flown by. And then six days, six weeks…well, you get the picture.

My goal this month is to actually try to do these things, even as the thoughts of “oh crap, did I call that person back?,” “a meatball sub sure sounds good,” or “shit, the car still needs an oil change” interfere with savoring every moment. In fact, my list of 22 items on Monday’s to-do list is in direct contrast to that way of thinking. And so the key must be to keep things in perspective as often as possible, and enjoy even the most trivial aspect of life. That’s my view on it anyway, but I’m curious as to yours, so feel free to respond to this—that is, if you’re still reading and not trying to tackle another item on your own list.

We have some outstanding projects starting this summer and fall. Here is a glimpse, and let us know if you would like to hear more of anything in particular. Have a great month everyone!--Mike

New clients/Upcoming releases

Roger Hoover—Kent, Ohio-based Roger Hoover has made a name for himself in folk and Americana circles with his brand of searching, wistful songwriting, and on his latest, Pastures (out October 7 on Last Chance Records), the singer wishes most to look forward while keeping an eye on the road behind. Indeed, Pastures’ thoughtful meanderings take listeners through a map of contemplative, everyman’s observations in the vein of music history’s best storytellers, set in the fertile backdrop of the U.S. Midwest. www.rogerhoover.com

The War and Treaty—Husband and wife Michael Trotter, Jr. and Tanya Blount Trotter (on keys, vocals and tambourine); along with cellist Thillman Benham make up this up-and-coming trio from Maryland. The War and Treaty’s new single, “Hi Ho,” from the forthcoming album Dear Martha, is spinning on 11 AAA radio stations nationwide as we speak. Michael is a two-time Iraq war vet, and actually learned to play on Saddam Hussein’s piano; and they tour in a conversion van, as the Trotters road-school their 5 year old son. www.thewarandtreaty.com

Gaelynn Lea—Duluth based violinist/vocalist Gaelynn Lea recently won NPR’s Tiny Desk Contest (out of 6100 entries), and she has a fall tour lined up in support of a new EP releasing later this month. The tour will take Gaelynn through the Midwest, East coast and Southeast; including tapings with Daytrotter and Music City Roots. She will also be a keynote speaker at CD Baby’s DIY conference, with NPR’s Bob Boilen interviewing her. www.violinscratches.com

Previously announced upcoming releases

Farewell Milwaukee FM (September 9) www.farewellmilwaukee.com
John Papa Gros Rivers on Fire (August 26) www.johnpapagros.com

Recent Releases

35th & Taylor I Know You’re Trouble www.35thandtaylor.com
Cowboy Mouth The Name of the Band Is (July 15) www.cowboymouth.com
Cornflower Blue Invincible www.cornflowerblue.com
Michael McDermott Willow Springs www.michael-mcdermott.com
JD Malone Town and Country www.jdmalone.com
Lizanne Knott Excellent Day www.lizanneknott.com
Jared Hard 10,000 Hydrogen Bombs www.jaredhard.com

Concord Music Group — We are currently working with the following artists under the Concord Music Group umbrella: Ben Williams, Boney James, Chick Corea, Danielle Nicole Band, David Benoit, Dianne Reeves, Fourplay, Hiromi, Jamison Ross, Javier Colon, Jeff Lorber, Kris Bowers, Kristin Chenoweth, Lee Ritenour, Lizz Wright, Marquis Hill, Mindi Abair, Peter White, Peter Wolf, Richard Elliot, Takuya Kuroda, and The Record Company . There are some new releases that these artists are supporting, so check them out at www.concordmusicgroup.com

Artists Currently on Tour

Firefall www.firefall.net
Pure Prairie League www.pureprairieleague.com
Poco www.poconut.org
Brian Lisik www.brianlisik.com
The Quebe Sisters quebesisters.com
Will Kimbrough www.willkimbrough.com
Red Wanting Blue www.redwantingblue.com
Big Sam’s Funky Nation www.bigsamsfunkynation.com
Chris Knight www.chrisknight.net
Tim Mahoney www.timmahoney.com
Badfish, a Tribute to Sublime www.badfish.com
Flow Tribe www.flowtribe.com


# # #

Follow Us

Services Overview

We write and circulate press releases, service new album releases to media outlets, write or aid in writing bios, and send tour alerts. We also solicit features, interviews, calendar items and more to radio, TV and media contacts and provide detailed reporting to clients.

Retainers are available on a monthly basis by special arrangement. Email Mike for more information, questions about pricing, or for a quote on your specific needs.

Contact Us

Mike Farley
Telephone: 608-848-9707
E-mail: mike@michaeljmedia.com

Matt Kelly
E-mail: matt@michaeljmedia.com

Megan Suddarth
E-mail: megan@michaeljmedia.com